Well hello there!

So it’s been over a month since I posted last.  I have no idea of where the time has gone!  It always seems that this time of year speeds up.  The summer starts to wrap up and then boom it’s fall-ish temps and then it’s snowing.  Kidding about that last part, but time really is flying.

Grab a drink and put your feet up because this will be a long one…

Half Marathon Training

Still going.  It’s less than 3 weeks out! Last I wrote I had just completed my long run (7 miles) with the group.

Labor Day weekend I went out on my own for what I was calling a 7-9 miler and did all 9.  My average pace was also a bit stronger than in the past, so I considered it a win.  I didn’t look at my pace at all during the run.  It was an out and back and I calculated it to be about 7.5 figuring I’d do loops at the end if I wanted to get my mileage up.  I got back to the starting point around 8 (I think) and told myself I’d go for 8.5.  When I got to 8.5 I told myself to suck it up and do another half mile.

The weekend after I planned to do 9 or 10 on Saturday.  Then I woke up on Saturday and just was not feeling it.  At all!

What’s challenging for me is that I teach spin on Sunday mornings, so if I don’t get a long run in on Saturday, it’s gets tricky.  I could do it super early or after class.  I leave for class at 7:40a, so that would mean starting a long run at 5a or so.  I suppose it could be done, but i’m not sure it’s something I really want to do.

So that Sunday we figured we’d run some and then I’d teach and then try to get more miles it.  We ended up doing 4 slow miles before, then I taught, and then I hit a park with a 1/2 mile path after class for another 3 miles.  7 total plus a spin class.  Not perfect, but not horrible either.

I’m losing a weekend somewhere, but nevermind.

Last weekend was 10 on the schedule.  My other half went out around 7:15 and I went with the group at 8a.  It’s interesting how the group runs vary because this time I wasn’t last.  There were actually quite a few people behind me.   He ended up crossing paths with us and we ran together for a few miles before he split off.

It was a hard run because it got HOT.  I think it was around 82 when I finished and since it’s been such a cool late summer, it threw me off.  I had to take some walking breaks starting around mile 7.  Then just after 8 I ran by a friend I hadn’t seen in years, so I had to stop and talk to him.  Obviously it just kept getting hotter, so I ran when I could and walked when I felt that I should.  A training run was not worth getting light headed for. 🙂

10 or 11 for tomorrow!  I’ve been feeling off all week, so I’m hoping that tomorrow is better.

Last Minute Travel

I’m headed to Chicago next week to spectate the Chicago Marathon!  My sister is running and while I had always planned to go, I waited to book my flights and saw the prices go sky high.  So when I found something slightly more tolerable yesterday, I jumped on it and booked.

I also signed up for the Chicago International 5K on Saturday.  Should be a fun trip!  Anyone else planning on being there?  Running or spectating?

Wedding

This ish is getting real!  I’ve started having dreams about the wedding which one or many things go wrong.  My first dream had me in a dress that had the right top, but the bottom half was a pair of jeans.  My second dream had the invitations with different start times on them, one of which was 9a, so people were showing up before I was dressed.

I had both my hair and makeup trials last week and amazingly they both went well!  I was a little nervous about the hair, but ended up very pleased.

My second dress fitting is next week.

Now it’s all the smaller details that will likely make me completely insane over the next two months.  Wish me luck!

Other Stuff

Still kind of doing the vegan thing.  I did have a little turkey and chicken last week.  I’ve also had some cheese.  I’m eating eggs when I want to.  No doubt though, it’s much less dariy than before.  Surprisingly, my other half is doing better than me.  He was the crazy meat eater and as far as I know he has truly eaten no meat since July.

I was going to post these next few pictures to tell you that my life hasn’t been only work and wedding stuff, but then I realized that these were all taken at work events (two for my full time job and one for One Bro).  I think I need to work on some balance.  But since they’re freaking awesome photos, I’ll share anyway.

20170923_19163020170908_19101320170908_185935

Can you tell I love a good sunset?

I’ve also spent a lot of time thinking about the Caribbean post-hurricane(s).  The Caribbean is my happy place, most specifically St. Thomas, and they got hit quite hard.  We were actually supposed to do the first leg of our honeymoon there, and now it’s a bit of a question mark.  We’re doing all we can to help from afar and will see what we do about our travel plans.

So with that, I’m off.  Probably won’t be back until either after Chicago or after the half.  I will do my hardest to take photos and not just bore you with a ton of words. 🙂

Thing is, I love to write and I love to take pictures, I just don’t easily combine the two.

Happy running, happy friday, happy everything!!

Leave a comment