V update

So far the vegan thing is going OK and we’ve actually had some very delicious food.

Although I do have to admit it hasn’t been 100% because I still am not sure how to substitute eggs.  I did see that there’s a product out there, but the local supermarket didn’t have it.  I also remember seeing the term “flax egg” in the past, but am not really sure what that means 🙂

I’m open to suggestions if anyone has some.

We both agreed that we are lucky since my other half is such a great cook, so he’s comfortable playing around and trying new things.  We’ve been eating pretty well.

On Monday night we had pad thai.  My other half made that and while not the most healthy, it was DELICIOUS!  There was one egg in there, but we’ll work on that.  Unfortunately I don’t have a recipe to share but will try to find out if he used one.

20170710_204149

Tuesday night we had a version of pho with the shirataki tofu noodles. Sorry, no photo of that one.

Then last night dinner was on me and I made Quinoa Falafel with an Avocado Tahini Dressing courtesy of Vegangela.

20170712_210011

Of course the majority of items in this photo are things I didn’t make (the pita, hummus, and tabbouleh).  And not pictured is the delicious avocado tahini dressing.

Recipe is here although I did tweak it a bit.

I am most excited about this recipe because now I know that Vegangela is a good resource for recipes.  There are so many recipes out there that people say are great, and then you try them and they just aren’t.  I need to learn whose opinions I can trust.  For example, I have a friend who I love dearly, but her taste in restaurants isn’t so great, which I learned the hard way, so I take her recommendations with a grain of salt.

I have a bunch more from her site cued up to try.  Yay!

Please share recipes with me in the comments 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

