Skincare

Hi there!

I hope the title of this post doesn’t have you thinking you’re going to get all the answers to gorgeous skin.  Sorry.

I’m getting married in just over 4 months (which is crazy).  I’m also turning 38 at the end of next month (crazier!).

I think it’s a combination of the two, but i’ve been looking more closely at my skin and seem to be noticing every little issue.  I don’t think these issues just popped up, but for some reason now i’m really noticing them.

I definitely dealt with acne in my teenage years and then again in my mid to late 20s after a bout with mono sent my immune system to the sh*ts.  I’m pretty sure I could have won a “most frequent visitor” award at the dermatologists office.  I did topicals, antibiotics, acutane, you name it.  But I got past all that relatively scott-free.  Yes, I have some scarring, but it’s not horrible.

After focusing on my skin a bit too much (and thinking about wedding photos, argh!) I came to the realization that it was time to spend more money, time, and effort on my skin.

Easier said than done.

There are so many products out there that I literally had no idea where to start (still not sure that I do).  Rodan and Fields is all.over.the.freaking.internet, there are drugstore brands, department store brands, and natural products.  Overwhelming.

I did a little research but pretty quickly got annoyed and overwhelmed (both by the amount of information and the lack of good content.  Then I got a bit overwhelmed by the prices.

I know it’s my skin, I know it’s what everyone sees first, but I can not get myself to pay over $100 for any set of products.  I just can’t do it!

So here’s what I came up with (and how) and we’ll see what happens.  My plan is to take a picture before and then another in a month or so to see if there’s any difference.

Image result for micellar water garnier

Micellar Water – This stuff is honestly being mentioned EVERYWHERE.  I like the fact that it doesn’t require water, which makes it fast and easy (and not drying).  I’ve been using this on my face for a few days now.

The other brand I decided to try is the Ordinary.

I read a few different reviews/comments about the Ordinary and what attracted me initially was the affordable price point.  My first order came out to roughly $40 and included 4 different products.

Since I’m totally a skin newbie, I grabbed the recommended regimen from their site and decided to give it a go.

ordinary.JPG

Apparently they’ve become super popular rather quickly, so they were experiencing fulfillment delays and I had no idea when I’d get my products.  So about a week after placing my order I was pretty excited to receive a shipping notification.

Looks like it will deliver today!  Hooray!

I’m really looking forward to seeing how this goes.

As a side note, I felt comfortable going with the site recommendation because my skin is pretty average and not sensitive. 🙂

For daily use I use a moisturizer with SPF (right now I have one by Trader Joe’s and another from New Zealand with manuka honey).

So tell me, do you have any product recommendations?  Anything for the chest area? (that’s my next spot to work on since I seem to have some creases, seriously, WTF??)

I’m also a sucker for masks, so I have a charcoal mask from Loreal as well as some random ones from a Trader Joes holiday pack.  And of course there’s always the Queen Helen Mint Julep mask (speaking of which, I’m out and need more).

I’d love to hear any and all skin related input/thoughts.

Thanks!!

2 thoughts on “Skincare

  1. I’ve been curious about the micellar water. The biggest investment I made before my wedding was in a Clairsonic. I LOVE the thing. My dermatologist later told me she adores them and I also had someone use one during a facial. I have rather oily skin so I am okay trying most things. But I do love how my skin feels after I use the Clarisonic.

    1. I briefly thought about a Clarisonic but probably just cheap-ed out. Maybe worth another thought.
      Micellar water is really interesting. It says it’s oil free yet I feel that it has an oily feel. I think this might be great in the cooler weather but right now it’s a little too dewy for regular use.

Leave a Reply

