Who’s That Girl

whos that girl.jpg

Oh hey!  Just me!  Sorry to disappoint but madonna is not writing this blog.  Bummer.

If anyone is still reading, you can see that I had gone silent for a long time.  I missed writing but I just wasn’t sure I had anything to say.  Really?  In actuality I always have something to say about something, but what could I write that might actually have value. I’m still not sure I have the answer but I’m going to write because I like to write and like my coffee mug says…

You-Happy-Mug.jpg

So here I am!  I suppose a lot and a little has changed at the same time.  I’ll attempt to briefly recap.

Looks like my last post was when I beat up my shins on an intense downhill run.  So there’s that.  I’ll start with running.

I refunded my entry to the Fairfield Half Marathon on 6/24.  While I loved it last year, this year I absolutely was not ready and since a refund (less $10) was an option, I went for it.  I had a teeny bit of FOMO but probably would not have survived anyway.

I am still registered for the SONO Half on October 14th and training has just started. Today.  Or rather, tomorrow, since this morning I was paying the price for way overindulging on potato chips yesterday.  Who am I?  I’m so not a chips person!

Speaking of food, the other half watched “What the Health” on Netflix about a week ago.  He’s now attempting to be 95% vegan (the 5% is fish/seafood).  He is the biggest meat eater I know and I was shocked that he wanted to attempt this.  He’s made it almost a week and honestly that was more than I expected.

84266507

I’m going along with him on this journey since meat doesn’t do much for me to start.  I do plan on talking more about this topic on the blog and sharing any good recipes we find/try.  Don’t worry, I won’t become that person.

Yesterday I went to the library and took out 3 vegan cookbooks.  Today I printed some recipes from the interwebs.

Personally, I’m most excited to experiment with nut based sauces and finally giving nutritional yeast a try.  I’ve never been adventurous when it came to meats, but plant based, game on!

Have you watched that documentary on Netflix?  What did you think?

I didn’t watch the whole thing because i’m way too sensitive when it comes to food related “exposes”, but I think it made some interesting points.  At the same time, it did seem a bit extreme so i’d likely want to do more research into their claims.

All this said, I do still expect to occasionally consume animal products.  For example, I’m headed to DC in a couple weeks for my bachelorette party and if I want mac and cheese, I’m going to have it!!!  Or butter!  🙂

If you have any recommendations on websites, recipes, or books, let me know.  If you have any recommendations for documentaries on this topic, let me know and i’ll tell my other half to watch.

And finally, in closing, since I’m talking about watching stuff.  Have you watched GLOW?  (also on Netflix)

I grew up with one of the girls in the show, so I had heard about it somewhat early on.  Once it debuted it got great reviews so I gave it a watch.  I’m only a few episodes in, but I’m really enjoying it.  Yay TV!

I’m going to try to get back to somewhat regular posting, so please stick around and let’s be internet friends.

Leave a Reply

