My most unlikely post ever (but also very helpful)

Got to lure you in with those tricky headlines….right?  🙂

It has to do with cleaning!  Yikes!  Argh!  I really don’t care for cleaning, but sometimes it can not be avoided.  I will now tell you how to remove wax from your furniture.

The background

While working at a tradeshow a few weeks ago, my other half ordered this crazy humongous candle from FlashPoint Candle.  It’s hard to tell from the photo, but it’s gigantic!  The diameter is 15″ (it’s the Hamilton 17 wick in case anyone was curious).

It was lit in our living room.

img_20170130_185902_849

It was lit (obviously).  So I asked my sig other if he thought he could blow them all out in one breath.  Note that this was not meant as a challenge but just a question since it’s a lot of wicks.  Well he apparently took this as a challenge and blew them out with all his might.

In doing so, he managed to get wax everywhere.  Everywhere.  All over the upholstered ottoman it was sitting on and all over the couch just beyond it.  Lovely.  We’ve only had this furniture about 2 months.  Even better.

He freaked out a bit.  I assured him it would be OK (even though I wasn’t sure).  We did buy the insurance though, so worst comes to worst, we’d take advantage of that and get replacements.

I told him we definitely needed to let the way harden and then we’d go from there.  So last night after work I got started on my task.

I googled “how to remove wax from upholstery” and found this most helpful article.

A year or so ago we had a big wax spill on our hardwood floors and removing that was tough.  We needed to get it all off but without damaging/scraping the floors.  In that instance, dish soap and a hairdryer saved the day.

When it comes to wax, you need to get it out of the solid state for removal, so enter heat.

The article I linked to said to remove all excess wax and then place a paper towel over the spot.  Then place a paper bag over the paper towel and iron the spot.  Essentially the wax will melt and adhere to the texture of the paper towel.

He was skeptical but I figured it was worth a shot.  Guess what?  It worked!  The wax stuck to the paper towel and came off of the couch.

After that step, they instruct you to use a cleaning product to clean up any residual spots.  Lucky for us the wax wasn’t colored, so it wasn’t too bad.  We also had spot cleaner from the furniture store, so I used that.

While it’s not 100%, it’s pretty darn close.  We found a few more wax spots, so i’ll likely repeat the process, but I was blown away by how well this works.

I felt that it was my duty to share this wax removal tip with you (it can also be used on clothing).

You’re welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

