Here we go 2017!

Happy 2017 to you!

I figured that 2017 would be a pretty uneventful and quiet year but it looks like that will definitely NOT be the case.  More on that later.

To finish up 2016 I headed to St. Thomas.  My happy place.  We were there for Christmas but back in time for New Year’s Eve.

islandtime
Island Time Pub
bushwacker
Bushwacker – so good!
stt2016
Sapphire Beach
stt2016-2
Sapphire Beach (again)

It is such a beautiful and lovely island.  We stay at Sapphire Beach, on the East End and rent a condo.  We stay in the same complex each year but a different unit each time.  It’s lovely to be somewhere this gorgeous but feel like you are at home.

The town of Red Hook is right down the road and has a bunch of bars and restaurants as well as the ferries to St. John and other islands.

If you ever want to know about STT, feel free to contact me.  I could talk about it all day!

We were home for NYE and spent it with my other half’s family, which was lovely.  Lots of laughing (and dancing!).  I didn’t go to bed until 3am and definitely paid the price the next day.

So looking forward to 2017…

It will not be a quiet year because most likely I will be getting married in 2017!  Yes, you read correctly, we got engaged while we were away.  It’s nuts and i’m definitely still processing.

So if I needed any reason to really get back to being healthy and taking care of myself, this is as good as any.

Big plans for 2017.

I registered for the SONO Half on 10/14/17.  There is a slight chance that that could be wedding weekend in which case I’d defer (and register for another) but we’ll see.  My plan with running is to really start up again in April with an occasional outdoor run here and there until then.  I think I’m almost ready to really give it another go.

I’m getting back on the OTF train and hoping to get back to two classes a week.  I also told the sig other that we could work out together 2 times a week (he’s pushing for 3).  So on the fitness side, the plan is in place.

We’re also on day 1 of no sugar.  I know I need this.  Quite a few years ago, I had to go on a strict no sugar diet due to an overgrowth of yeast due to years on antibiotics.  It sucked but once I got past the challenge I actually felt better than I had in quite some time.  I’m really hoping I can return to that feeling since lately i’ve been feeling very sluggish, not motivated and overall blah.  Fingers crossed!  Drinking coffee without sugar this morning did not taste very good, but I will make myself like it!

So that’s what’s going on here.  I’m ready for it.

Now on the complete opposite side of what I just wrote about, I made banana pudding for New Year’s Eve.  My other half’s family is known for the banana pudding so when he asked me to make some, I felt a bit like I was being set up to fail.  I did some recipe digging and found this one.  Somehow, it got the stamp of approval from the family!  Thank goodness!  Give it a try, it’s quite easy!

And now i’m off to be productive.  Talk soon!!!

6 thoughts on “Here we go 2017!

Leave a Reply

