Year in Running – 2016

(sorry, no photos on this one)

I’m trying not to laugh at this title.  Technically I did run in 2016 but it was hardly a robust year of running.  That said, I figured it would be interesting to look back and summarize what I actually did this year.

In 2016 I ran a few races.  When 2015 ended I was in full on running mode.

I started 2016 by joining a half marathon training program at a local running store.  Overall that was a great thing for me and I really liked it.  I liked the accountability of a group and having someone else map out my runs.  What I didn’t like was that it wasn’t very convenient for me, so the Saturday 8a long runs had me up very early.  Plus, it was cold and as it does every year, chest congestion got the best of me.  But in hind sight, joining that group was a great thing and if I can find a more convenient group, I’ll do it again.

In March I ran the Savin Rock Half Marathon.  This was the race the training group was for, but since I bailed on it towards the end, I was not prepared.  My sister did this one with me and were it not for her, I probably would have skipped it.  The weather was around 32 degrees at the start.  Brrrr.  I did a lot of walking in this one.  I made the decision to walk all the hills and was glad I did, because they were TOUGH.  The end was rough, but I did finish.  The next day I hopped on a plane to China.  Yikes!

In April I ran the BAA 5K as part of the Boston Marathon.  That was cool.  Decent uneventful run.

In June I ran the NYRR Mini 10k in Central Park.  At this point I was running a bit and feeling OK about this race.  It was tough.  CP is HILLY, which I didn’t really realize.  It was also the largest race I’ve ever done, which was nuts!

Later in June I ran the Fairfield Half.  Again, somewhat under trained (big surprise!).  That said, I had clear goals for this race and met (and exceeded) them all.  None were related to time which was nice.  I actually enjoyed this race and would do it again.  But it was HOT!

I pretty much didn’t run at all after the Fairfield Half.  While in South Africa I ran almost 4 miles once, but that was pretty much all the running I did from July through November.

In November I ran the Fairfield Turkey Trot and did not enjoy it.  Once again, under trained, or under prepared because I didn’t even attempt to train.

And now it’s December and I haven’t run at all since November (except for small bursts during OTF).  Thankfully I do still teach two spin classes a week which has helped me somewhat maintain my cardiovascular fitness.  I’m also back in the OTF groove.

I’m going away for Christmas and just may try to get some running in, but we’ll see. Going into January/February is a tough time for me because I typically get a bad chest cold.  Hopefully it skips this year, but who knows.

Regardless, I’m hoping to get back to running in the milder temps.  I’m thinking maybe trying to get back outside in March and potentially on a treadmill sooner.

A friend of mine had a baby in October and we talked about the Fairfield Half being her goal race.  I’m up for that!

So we will see what happens in 2017.  Till then, happy holidays!!!!

Leave a Reply

