December

I’ve been ignoring this little blog and just took a look at my stats and was very suprirsed to see that people are still reading.  Not many, but more than 1.  I figured I owe you folks something interesting to read.

Happy December!

Stuff has been BUSY!  Looks like I haven’t posted since around Halloween, so I’ll do my best to give an update.

November – Wow, so much happened in November!

Epic tailgate party at MetLife Stadium for One Bro Pizza Co.

tailgate

There were actually a lot more people in the photo but unfortunately they got bumped since Instagram likes a square photo.

That was 11/6.  8 days later we moved.

We bought a house!  So yeah, there’s been all the crap that goes along with that process.  Cleaning up the old place, packing, packing, and packing some more, more cleaning, and lots of keeping those fingers crossed.

Thankfully it all worked out and here we are.  Trying to get used to all the good and bad that goes along with owning a house (versus a condo).

house

We moved in on Monday 11/14 and hosted our first overnight guests that weekend (yes, we’re crazy).  Friends came into town to see the Big Head Todd Blues Club, so we all hosted and we went and enjoyed some good music.

20161119_204321.jpg

It was a very cool intimate venue.  I used to see live music all the time and haven’t been in ages, so it was a welcome change.

The following week was thanksgiving and of course we were hosting!  Because why not?

But first, a 5 mile turkey trot in the AM.  My sis and I headed there around 7a for the 8:15a start.  Parking was nutty but we ended up getting a pretty good spot.  We hung out a bit and then went our separate ways (her to the front, me to the back).

Let me just tell you that at the end of August I ran almost 4 miles in South Africa.  That was the last time I’ve run.  Nice.  So these 5 miles were going to be interesting.

They ended up OK.  Slow, but OK.  I did have to stop and walk a little during the last mile, but who cares.  Thankfully during the run I had no pain.  Did I enjoy the run?  No, not really.  The course was OK but I just wasn’t feeling it.  All good.

Most of my photos are disgusting, but here’s the only one that is tolerable.

race_3265_photo_49465805

So happy!  (not really)

So that ended and we headed home where the rest of the day had some interesting ups and downs but overall was lovely.  My legs were TIRED and the next day I felt a bit like I had been beat up.  Guess that’s what you get for zero training.  Oh well, I survived.

And now we are full on into the holiday season and the busyness that goes with it.  Trying to keep things in check but we’ll see how that goes.

The NYC Half Marathon entry came and went and I let it go.  That race is freaking expensive and I just didn’t want to spend that sort of money on a race.  I like the $60 price point.  This one is $145.  Yuck.  I keep thinking about signing up for another race thinking it will boost my motivation. Thing is, I’ve signed up for two in the past for just that reason and it didn’t work.  All I ended up doing was running a race under-trained.  So what good is that?  So i continue to wait for my epiphany.  We’ll see what happens.

So that’s what’s been going on here.  A lot and not much at the same time.  Interesting how that happens.

I’ll continue to pop in periodically or when I have something of value to say.

If i’m not back before, have a happy holiday season and new year!!!

Leave a Reply

