I might run again tonight

Happy hump day!

It’s July 27th.  My last half marathon was on June 26th and since then I have not done any true running.  Yes, I’ve done some short bursts of running at OTF, but I have not gone out for a run, nor have I hit the treadmill to just run.

Quite honestly I haven’t had any desire to run.  I’ve been teaching two times a week and going to OTF two times a week (when I can) and it’s been nice to not feel that feeling of “I should go out for a run”.

The last training cycle (which was hardly training or even a cycle) left me with a lot of guilt, although that’s a strong word.  I felt guilty because while I was OK when I got out to run, I never really wanted to go.  There was a lot of “should” going on in my head.

I’m driven in some ways but not in other ways and running was just not one of those ways.  I wanted to do it and enjoy it, I didn’t want to feel like I had to do it.

I think the break has been good, and for the first time in a month, I’ve actually had tiny little feelings of wanting to run.  The weather here is still a bit hot for me, but I just may give it a go on the treadmill this evening.  We’ll see how it goes.  And if it doesn’t happen, that’s OK too, there will be another day.

Based on this attitude i’m sure you can guess that I’m not signed up for any more races (of any distance).  I’m going back and forth on the idea of a fall marathon, either the Sono Half (in my town, and my first) or the Philly Half.  I think I like the idea of the Philly Half more, but it’s $150 and I think that’s pretty insane!

In the meantime I’m trying my hardest not to get too bogged down with work and busyness of life.  I’m trying to enjoy things and do things, even when it means I’m busier than ideal.

This past weekend was just that.  Great but so busy.

Originally my plans were for later in the day on Saturday to meet my family in NYC after my parents saw a broadway show.  Then I decided that maybe my sister and I should see a show too, which turned into me going in to also have brunch beforehand.

So I hit OTF in the morning and then came home to shower and grab Minnie and we headed into the city.  I got to my sister around 11a, left Minnie in her apartment and headed to brunch.  From brunch we went back to my sister’s apartment and met up with my parents.  Hung out a bit and then headed downtown to the Broadway area.  My parents saw Beautiful and my sis and I saw Fiddler.  Both are great shows if you’re ever in the area and want to see a show.

Once the shows were over we met up and did some walking through central park.  Stopped at the Ballpark Grill for some sangria and then continued to make our way to dinner on the east side.  After dinner we grabbed an Uber back to my sister’s place, hung out a bit and then it was back to CT for me and the pup.

Got home around 10 and pretty much went directly to bed.

Sunday – up at 6:45a to prep a bit for my class at 8:15a.  Class was great.  Did a few errands afterwards because I was headed up to the Thimble Islands for the day.

The Thimble Islands are essentially an archipelago in the Long Island Sound off the coast of CT.  I believe it’s officially hundreds of islands of varying sizes; some simply a boulder, others large enough to have multiple dwellings.

news thimble.jpg

One of my friends has what they call a cottage on the island above the 5 in the picture above.

In all the years I’ve known her, I’ve never been.  To get there you take a “ferry”.  I’m putting this in quotes because it’s a rather small boat.

Ferry

I brought Minnie with me, so that was an added challenge as my lovely dog is quite afraid of the water.  I was pleasantly surprised with how well she handled the ferry.

So we made a 12p “ferry” and were to the island quite quickly.  My friends island is called  Money Island and I believe it has 30 or so homes on it.  While they do have running water, they do not have electricity, so it’s a bit rustic.

That said it is an absolutely wonderful place to be in the summer since you are surrounded by water and can truly just relax.

My other half actually went up Saturday and stayed till Monday and he enjoyed some fishing and clamming.  It’s amazing to be so removed from it all without actually being that far away.

My photos don’t do it justice, but here are a few.

thimble1thimble5thimble

thimble3thimble4

minnie thimble.jpg

So pretty!  While you can’t just go to one of the island to hang out (they are privately owned), they do offer some Thimble Islands cruises and there were quite a few people waiting in line for those.

If you’re in the coastal CT area, I definitely recommend checking this area out.  I’m already hoping for another invite!

I took a “ferry” back around 7:30 and was home around 9.  It was a really busy weekend but it was absolutely wonderful!

How was your weekend?  Any race suggestions?  Have you done Philly?  Is it worth the $150 price tag??

Leave a Reply

