Where did it go?

This morning someone asked me how the weekend was and I honestly couldn’t remember.  It was to the point that it was strange.  What the heck did I do this weekend?  After some thought though, it came back to me.  It was busy enough but also somewhat lazy, and of course….too short.

I started out Friday rocking my new TOMS.  I love TOMS.  I didn’t for a while and then I bought a pair and now I buy them every time they are on zulily.com (no need to pay full price!).

toms

I had hoped to cut out a little early on Friday, but that didn’t happen.  What did happen on Friday was a delivery of a new fridge.  Hooray!

fridge

My old fridge was about 5+ years and the freezer was a disaster.  When I bought it, I was in the midst of renovations (kitchen and two bathrooms) and was tired of spending money, so I bought a cheap model.  Sometimes you get what you pay for.  While the freezer technically still worked, what it did best was attempt to turn the whole freezer into an iceberg.  I ain’t got time for that!

So new fridge it is, and boy is she pretty!  The space for the fridge is a very specific size and as a result there are not many models that will fit.  Thankfully this one worked.

Saturday One Bro had an event at 1p, so I had signed up for a 7am (ouch!) OTF class.  I will admit that when my alarm went off at 6a I toyed with the idea of cancelling.  But I didn’t.  I got up, walked the dog and hit that class…hard.  It was WONDERFUL!  It was a good class overall and for the first time in a while, I felt like I was able to really push myself.

I’ve been having some issues with their HR monitor, so on Saturday I used a loaner and it worked fine, which tells me that maybe mine really does have issue.  I have their chest strap (versus the wrist monitor) and had thought about trying out the wrist based on all the issues I had.  They were all set to give me a wrist monitor that morning and after trying two, neither worked.  Guess it’s a work in progress.

I grabbed some coffee and was still home by 8:30, which was crazy.  I kept thinking it was later in the day than it was.  I needed to do some errands and get ready for the event.  I left the house around 11:45 and headed over.

The event was in a part of Norwalk called Rowayton, which is a beautiful area by the water.  This was the view.

rowayton

Weather on Saturday was WEIRD and not at all July-like.  I had on jeans, a t-shirt, and a sweatshirt and I was actually chilly.  Because we were by the water it was quite breezy, which made it chillier.  Although from a working perspective, it was much better than 90+ and humid, especially because that oven is HOT.

Some food photos from the event…

Eggplant, chicken marsala, and salad.  Yum!

Saturday night we did nothing and it was pretty enjoyable.

Sunday I was up early once again, this time for spin.  Class is at 8:15 in Stamford (about a 10-15 minute drive) so the alarm went off at 6:45a.  Yuck.  Thankfully class was really good, so it was well worth it.  And again, being done by 9a is quite lovely.

From there I hit up TJs for a few items and then Old Navy who was having 50% off all activewear.  I’m hot and cold with their active stuff as I feel like the quality varies greatly.  I have a few things I love and have bought others and been disappointed.  I ended up grabbing two tanks, a pair of shorts, and arm sleeves for my other half.

As you know, i’m toying with the idea of shorts, so I figured I’d give them a shot.  I went with these.

running short

After 50% off, they were not even $10, which is awesome.  Unfortunately when I tried them on I hated them.  So back to the drawing board.  While I do like to be locked and loaded, i’m thinking that from an aesthetic perspective, fitted may not be the way to go.  I’m not a particularly vain person, but I need to at least somewhat like the way an item looks on me to wear it.  Next.

The rest of the afternoon consisted of some errands, relaxing, cleaning, and walking Minnie.  While the day started out really cloudy, the sun broke through and with it, lots of heat.  I took Minnie out and when we got back she did this.

minnie floor

That part of the floor is somewhat close to the AC and therefore a little cool.  Dog down.

Then I got to work on making some zucchini bread since we had a few zucchinis that needed to be used.

zucchini

Here’s the recipe I used.

Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

Ingredients
 3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
3 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
2 cups white sugar
3 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups grated zucchini
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions
Grease and flour two 8 x 4 inch loaf pans.  Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
Sift flour, salt, baking powder, soda, and cinnamon together in a bowl.
Beat eggs, oil, vanilla, and sugar together in a large bowl.  Add sifted ingredients to the creamed mixture, and beat well.  Stir in zucchini and chocolate chips until well combined.  Pour batter into prepared pans.
Bake for 40 to 60 minutes, or until tester inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool in pan on rack for 20 minutes.  Remove bread from pan, and completely cool.
Sunday night I didn’t do much.  I recorded the new show on HBO, The Night Of and plan to watch tonight.  Anyone watch?  No spoilers, but what did you think?
I still haven’t run at all, aside from at OTF.  Thinking I will try to get outside for a run this week, although we’ll see just how hot and humid it ends up being.
The BAA Half Marathon registration opens this week and I’m toying with doing it.  Has anyone done it?  Would you recommend it?
So that’s that.  Hope you had a most wonderful weekend and have a great week!
Leave a Reply

