What a wonderful weekend!

Busy weekends can be so nice, but come Monday I wish they weren’t so busy.

This was a busy but wonderful weekend.

Friday started off with One Bro at the farmer’s market and I took a shot of this beauty.  Roasted vegetables and pesto pizza.

veggie pie

I love taking pictures of food…and eating food.

Saturday we were up bright and early to go to the beach!  This never happens, so it was pretty exciting.  We live on the coast and technically have a beach in our town, but it is on the Long Island Sound, not the ocean.  It’s just not the same.  The sand isn’t the same, the water isn’t the same.  As someone who grew up going to the beach, the beach here isn’t really a beach.  So we decided to make the trek to Long Island and go to Robert Moses State Park.

I’ve only been to RM State Park twice, but I loved it.  Driving down the Robert Moses Causeway is so scenic and then boom, you’re at a beach that is kind of just floating out there in the water.

Since we left the house early, we got to the beach early and it was nice and empty.

robert moses

We hung out there till about 2 and then left.  While we drove there, we decided we’d take the Port Jefferson ferry back to CT.  The traffic potential at that time was huge, and since I sit in traffic every day, I just didn’t have it in me to do it on the weekend.

The ferry was about 30 miles north east of the beach and we made it there just in time.  Taking the ferry with your car is not cheap, but it is very enjoyable.  They have food and drinks and the upstairs is completely outside, so on a nice day it’s lovely.

erry

It’s like you’re in the middle of nowhere.  I had a glass of wine and sat on the deck until I got too hot and had to seek out the AC.

We got home around 5.  Just in time to shower and head out for dinner plans with friends.

Sunday morning I woke up exhausted and lethargic, which seems to be the norm lately.  I dragged myself out of bed to walk Minnie and do a couple of errands before heading back to Long Island for Father’s Day.

We don’t do much on these sorts of holidays since we’d rather just hang out and be together so I headed to my parent’s house and met up with my parents, my sister, and my sister’s friend.  We sat outside on the deck enjoying appetizers and wine and then played some bocce before dinner.  It was quite nice.

We didn’t take many photos, but my sister did manage to snap this one of a lion in the wild.

in the wild

Just kidding!  It’s Minnie yawning.  She had a busy weekend of playdates so she was exhausted.

I picked up this hummus and LOVED it.  Have you tried it?

new-carrot

Spicy and sweet, just how I like things.

So I enjoyed the rest of my time with my family and then began the trek home, first dropping my sister and her friend off in the city.  Traffic was not on my side for the first leg of the trip, but thankfully the second was OK.  But it still took me about two hours and fifteen minutes to get home.  Yuck.

And now it’s Monday.

The Fairfield Half is on Sunday and guess what….i’m not prepared!  I was doing so well and then my motivation and energy just disappeared…and stuff got busy.  But, I’m still going to do it and hope for the best.  My only goal is to finish.

It’s looking like a warm forecast, so I’m a bit concerned about that.  I did however read that the course has 6 misters/sprinklers on the route, so that’s nice.

ff weather

It’s the warmest day of the 10 day forecast.  Lovely.  So we’ll see how this one goes.

I’ve also pretty much decided to put half marathons on hold after this one.  Not sure what i’ll get up to next, but I’m sure i’ll come up with something.

If not before, I’ll be back post-race.  Have a great week!!!

2 thoughts on “What a wonderful weekend!

  1. I have heard awesome things about the Fairfield Half and Full. My husband went to college there and several of his roommates have done it. I’m sure you will have a great time!

Leave a Reply

