Tuesday spin and a taper question

Here’s the playlist from last night.  It was fun!

WWe12

Although I will say I’m temporarily over Justin Beiber, so I didn’t love Sorry, but we pushed through.

The ride has 3 instrumental songs which is something I like.  As long as the beat is good, it lets the mind zone out a bit and get lost in the music and the pedaling.  Or at least that’s what I like to think happens.

Prior to class I hopped on the ‘mill for 2.5 miles.  I would have liked to run 3, but as usual I ran out of time.

Hitting the pavement tonight, so we’ll see how that goes.

Has anyone run a half and did a long run the week before?  Like 10+ miles?  How important is that taper?  Or can the taper just be reducing mileage during the week?  I’m a bit crunched for time and could really use that last weekend for another longer run.  Thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Tuesday spin and a taper question

  1. I did my last long run (12 miles) 2 weeks before my half. I don’t taper well but I do my best to trust my plan and trust my coach. It paid off race day. I negative split my first half marathon and had enough left in me to throw down my fastest mile the last mile. I think it depends on your goals, if you just want to finish you could treat it like another training run and run the appropriate pace for that, but if you want to race it I don’t think your body will be recovered enough to race. But that’s my own opinion and everyone and every body is different, it’s what works for you 🙂 🙂

    1. Such a great (and helpful) response, so thank you.
      Excellent point about running versus racing. I don’t think I know how to “race” so perhaps it could just be another run. Might be a game time decision as it gets closer.
      Thanks again for the input!

      1. I’m looking forward to hearing all about it 🙂 For me, racing is just running faster than I trained. I do all my long runs slow and steady and hope to race faster than that haha.

Leave a Reply

