8 Miles – DONE!

I’m so happy about accomplishing this that I just had to post today (guess that doesn’t say much about my Saturday night).

I hit the road this morning a bit before 9.  Later than I’d prefer, but it is what it is.

The start didn’t feel so great and I was definitely moving slowly.  Thankfully that improved as the miles ticked by.  It was an out and back, so I ran a little over 4 out and then turned back.  I always like to run a little more than half so that I have a walk to get home.

I took my Nathan hydration belt today and was glad I did.  While it wasn’t hot, it was definitely warmer than what i’m used to, so it helped to have water with me.  I also had some honey stinger chews, although I didn’t use them.  (I had one pre-run, but that was it.)

Here’s the route and elevation.

8

This is my favorite route and the ideal distance because the turnaround point is right at the end of a street, which just makes it so easy.  (I didn’t run 8.31, it just says that because of the out and back.)

It’s what I’d consider rolling hills, it’s a nice residential area, it’s shaded, and typically there aren’t a ton of cars.

I finished it with an average pace of about 10:35, which was fine.  I’m wondering if I have it in me to take 15+ seconds off that pace for the half.  I don’t know.

I feel like I have one pace.  I don’t really know how to go slower nor do I really know how to push.  I’m hoping to get in some more speedwork in the next few weeks to see if that helps.  Fingers crossed!

Tomorrow is an OTF class.  Right now my legs are sore and tired, so hopefully class tomorrow will be OK.  The class I did after my 6 mile run was the worst (performance wise) I’ve ever taken.  But, still something.

So in summary, I did it, I felt good, and am actually encouraged for the rest of training.  Hallelujah!

Here’s a shot of a gorgeous flower I saw today at Stew Leonard’s.  🙂

IMG_20160521_163423

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

