FriYay!

I’m so glad it’s Friday (yes, again, I know I always say that).  The week was CRAZY at work and so I’m glad that it’s Friday and things might actually slow down a bit.

Class on Tuesday night was fun.  Here’s the music if you’re interested.

wwe11

Initially I wasn’t sure what I thought of the new JT song, but I do like it.  I don’t think it’s the most amazing song ever, but it’s upbeat and fun, so that works.  It was perfect for a warm up.

Last night I was convinced to cancel my OTF class and instead go for a run with my other half.  We’re both signed up for the Fairfield Half on 6/26 but I am WAY ahead of him in training.  I think he needed me there to hold him accountable, but don’t tell him I said that 😉

So we went out for a leisurely 3 mile run, sans music.  I’m happy that I can now run without music, but I definitely still prefer the tunes.  Maybe a full on race without music would be OK because of all the other people, but when it’s just one or two people, it’s not my preference….unless I have a lot to say.  Who am I kidding?  I always have a lot to say.

So we went out on our usual route.  It’s a little hilly.

3 mile elevation

Some days these hills are nothing and other days they actually feel a little tough.  Well, even though I wasn’t feeling 100% yesterday, I’m happy to say that all the hills were just that little bit easier.

For that I am thanking OrangeTheory Fitness! Why is that?

At OTF, for the treadmill part of the workout, you are either a power-walker, a jogger, or a runner.  I experimented with running and jogging but ultimately decided that for my OTF workouts I’d go the power-walker route (which is kind of funny because I never power-walk).

What that really means is that the focus is on incline.  Like 15% incline at times (which is the max).  it’s a lot.  I try to stay on the faster side of the speed range and really push myself on the uphills.  It gets my heartrate up just as much as running, so it’s still hard, just different.

I honestly think that because of all the hills i’ve done on the treadmill as a power-walker, the hills on my run felt easier.  Nice!

This is the first time in a long time that I feel like I’ve seen any progress or improvement.  Yay!

So now i’m getting ready for the weekend.  OTF in the AM and then a big pizza event where I plan to take lots of pictures (and probably eat a bunch too).  Sunday is long run day (only 7 miles, not too crazy) and then hopefully the weather cooperates so we can finally do some planting.  Fingers crossed!

Have a most wonderful weekend!

Do you like hills?

Leave a Reply

