Food!

Still here!  It’s been a really stressful week (thanks work!) so I’ve been MIA on many fronts.  But….i’m still here and figured today I’d write about food.  Yum!

Here are a few things on my radar…

The Braised Greek from CHOPT.  My goodness!

I believe this is a NYC area chain, so I’m not sure how many people have access to it.  After a just OK first experience, on my second visit I ordered the Braised Greek and fell in love.

braised greek.jpg

Here’s the description:
Slow-cooked FreeBird spicy Greek chicken and quinoa, lentil & millet blend SERVED HOT OVER local feta, Mediterranean olives, pita chips, kale, spinach and cabbage
Dressing: Lemon Tahini + a drizzle of Red Wine Vinaigrette

YUM!!!
Generally speaking, I don’t find salads particularly interesting or appealing and I think it’s because they tend to be boring.  I like stuff in my salads!
Last week I was tasked with dinner on a night I ended up stuck at work late.  I had ZERO ideas or inspiration, so I headed to Trader Joes hoping I’d see the light.  I went straight for the proteins and saw lots of meat (not my thing) and Dijon Salmon.  I can work with salmon.  Maybe a hearty salad.
So I skipped over to the produce section and picked up a bag o’ greens, beets, a sweet potato, and zuchini.  Then I grabbed some candied walnuts, feta, and Joe’s Balsamic dressing.
Initially my other half told me I was cheating with this meal, but in the end he agreed that it was quite tasty!
Since I seem to go to Trader Joe’s at least once a week, I’ll also mention a couple of items that I haven’t yet tried but will (soon).
Tempura Cauliflower – Have you had this?  It looks interesting
tempura-cauliflower
Dark Chocolate Almonds with Turbinado Sugar and Sea Salt.  I’ve mentioned these before, but they really are THAT good.  I brought them home this past weekend for Passover and everyone who tried them agreed.
96930-dark-chocolate-almonds
Chocolate Covered Honey Grahams.  Someone recommended these bad boys.  Have you tried them?
wn-dark-chocolate-covered-honey-grahams
Yay food!  Any recommendations for good stuff from Trader Joe’s (or anywhere) or any good recipes?
Leave a Reply

