Still Here

Yes, I am still here.  Hard to believe, I know.

I fell off the blogging wagon because quite honestly, I just didn’t have much of interest to say or report.

Right now I’m doing a stellar job of perfecting “how not to train for a half-marathon”, also known as “what not to do in preparing for your second half”.

The half is in less than two weeks and me getting through it is going to be some sort of miracle.

spnge

My motivation is shot and I’ve been running WAY less than I should.  Were it not for the fact that my sister is running the half, I’d probably bail on it.  But instead I’m going to do whatever I can to get through it.

Good or bad, my other half is having the same issues as me, so at least we can suffer through it together.  Who knows, maybe we’ll be pleasantly surprised.

I think in hindsight, the winter is just not the time for me to train for something.  Sure, if I wanted it badly enough it wouldn’t matter.  But I don’t want it that badly.  I’m not the hardcore runner girl that so many other people are, and that’s OK with me.

I’m trying to make these next two weeks good in terms of running and we’ll just see how things go from there.

I’m also thinking about registering for another half in June, but need to make sure i’m doing it for the right reasons.  Or maybe I’ll stick to shorter distances for now, guess we’ll see.

I do have a 5K on Saturday and then the BAA 5K in about a month.  So at least I’ve got a few things going on.

And to make things that much more interesting, the day after the half I get to hop on a plane for 15+ hours to China.  Good times!  Hoping i’ll be extra tired and actually able to sleep on the plane.

So that’s what’s going on with me.  Hope everyone is having a good week!

Have you ever been in a similar situation where you had to do a run/race unprepared?

Leave a Reply

