Day 1 – Check

I successfully ran last night.  Hoooray!  It wasn’t my best ever, but I did it.

I headed to the gym after work.  After changing, i was disappointed to see that my usual treadmill was taken (as were all the similar treadmills).  This gym gets pretty crowded, so I figured I’d just hop on whatever was open.

It was a different model in the middle of all the treadmills, which was OK, it just meant that my view wasn’t of the meatheads who usually entertain me so.

meathead

But, thankfully, I survived, although it wasn’t nearly as entertaining to watch people on the elliptical machines.

I got in just over 4 miles.  I took a brief break after each mile.  For miles 3 and 4 I played around with incline, which I’ve never done before.  I did some intervals at 1%, 2%, 3%, and even 4%.  It definitely helped pass the time and make things more interesting.  I’ll definitely do it again, especially since I actually like hills.

The best part was when it was done.  I was happy that I managed 4 miles.  Day 1 back on the wagon, check!

Tonight is spin and I also just agreed to sub a spin class tomorrow morning, hello cardio!  May also try to get a little running in, but we’ll see how things play out.

Baby steps.  🙂

Do you like to people watch at the gym?  Strangest thing you’ve ever seen?

I people watch like crazy.  One time I saw a woman walking on the treadmill (in street clothes) but also eating yogurt.  Who doesn’t love a good yogurt while walking?

I also saw a woman in the locker room who had just showered. She was soaking wet and drying herself with paper towels.  This was especially odd because the gym provides towels.  Also saw a woman dying her hair in the locker room.  Love those locker room stories!

Leave a Reply

