Another weekend down

Why oh why do the weekends have to go by so quickly?  Or rather, why does it always feel like that on Sunday night or Monday morning?

It was a nice weekend though.

Friday night we didn’t feel up for doing much, so we had some homemade pasta (gifted to me, we didn’t make it) and sauce and started watching the Wire.  Only about 13 years late 🙂  My other half and I don’t have the same taste in TV, so it’s rare to find something we both have interest in watching.  I’m looking forward to watching the Wire together.  The real issue is that he tends to go on crazy binge-watching sprees and I don’t.  So hopefully he can keep it in check.

Saturday I spent the whole day at the gym.  Well, not really, but kind of.  Temp was cold and while my running group did meet, I had made the decision to table the outdoor runs for a bit to try and permanently get rid of this cough/cold.  We’re both training for the same half, but with different plans.  But coincidentally we both had 10 miles on the calendar, so off to the gym we went.  We went to his gym instead of mine and he convinced me to run on this.

4front_touch_800_0

This is a Woodway treadmill.  Apparently these are supposed to be more like running outside.  The easiest difference to spot is the slatted belt, verses the continuous style of most traditional treadmills.

From the moment I started running, it felt harder. I’ve spent a decent amount of time on treadmills so I know what pace to run at.  On this one, I had to run slower (like the slowest I’ve ever run on a treadmill).  But I kept at it and figured that 10 slow miles is the same as 10 slightly faster miles.

Doing a long run inside is just so different.  I found that I had to pee way more than usual, which is odd.  I also had to take a few quick breaks to stretch.

I hated this treadmill from the start and ended up only lasting for about 5.4 miles on it.  I felt the vibrations of the machine way more than other treadmills and that really bothered my feet.  I also didn’t like how large the console was because I like to look out ahead of me and people watch.  By the time I hit 5+, I needed a change.  I hopped off and headed to another treadmill to complete the remaining 4.6.

During that first 5 I experimented with watching TV instead of listening to music.  Top Chef was on and it was an episode I hadn’t seen.  I thought it was the perfect opportunity to watch it and run.  Thing is, watching TV doesn’t motivate me to keep going like music does.  At all.  I had to slow down even more.  I made it through about half of an episode and then decided I needed to go back to music.

I’m not going to completely give up on watching TV/Netflix, but I do think music is more my thing.

So after what felt like a gazillion hours, the run was over.  While not pretty, I did it!

From there I went home to shower before a hair color appointment.  For dinner we hit up a yummy pizza place and then called it a night because it was ridiculously cold out there.  While not good for business, the cold was good for us because we were able to get into what is usually a packed restaurant without a wait.

Sunday it was off to NY to celebrate my grandmother’s 90th birthday with the family.  It was nice to see everyone and catch up.  After the family time I ended up getting back to CT around 6, so just in time to relax.  The other half watched the Walking Dead and I went upstairs to watch TV in bed.  (I can’t stand TWD!)

This should be an uneventful week.  Although on Wednesday I’m going to see Live with Kelly & Michael, so that should be fun!

Hoping it’s a normal and healthy week for me.  Fingers crossed!

So am I alone in the music thing?  Maybe running with TV will get better/easier over time?

Did anyone catch Sting’s performance on the NBA All Star Game?

Have you ever run on a Woodway?

4 thoughts on “Another weekend down

  1. Great job getting the 10 miles in!! While on a treadmill, I either listen to music, a podcast, or watch netflix on my phone. But I agree- sometimes music is the most uplifting thing to listen to! It has to be a good show, otherwise it won’t work. I’ve run on a woodway before and I prefer normal treadmills! Happy Monday!

  2. Its NEVER too late for the wire!!

    I find that watching TV shows I already know I like (and have watched) is as good as music. Then you aren’t dying from running and dying from a horrible show. My go to is How I met your mother and of course, Friends 🙂

    But lets just pray spring gets here and we never have to step on a treadmill again. 🙂

    1. I love those shows!
      I’m thinking my next attempt will be Orange is the New Black. I feel like I need something that will keep me so interested that I can forget that I’m on the treadmill. I don’t know if a show like that even exists!
      I’d love for spring to arrive now.

Leave a Reply

