Hello there Thursday

I’m so glad it’s Thursday.  I’m definitely ready for the work week to be over!

I have a lot on my mind regarding work and saw this image posted on facebook a few days ago. To me it is sooooo true!

boss

In a nutshell, all of my issues are tied to my boss.  I have the ability to air some of my grievances, it’s just a fine line of complaining with a purpose and sounding needy or whiny.

Work aside…

I’m feeling OK today.

Last night after work I hit the gym with the intention of running 3-4 miles.  Other than my 1.5 mile run on Tuesday, I hadn’t done any running in almost two weeks.  I wasn’t sure how my breathing would be since this cough is STILL here.  Thankfully my breathing was OK.

I did the first mile a little slower and then settled into my comfortable pace.  Towards the end of the 3rd mile, it felt a bit tough, so I took it down a little for 3-3.5 and then brought it back up for the last half, ending faster.

Honestly, it wasn’t so bad.  I did get this weird feeling in my foot right around mile 3.  It almost felt like my shoe had become mushy.  It was odd.  I actually wondered if it had anything to do with the light attachment on my shoe possibly moving around.  No clue!

I will say, I felt pretty hard core, almost like a real runner.  🙂  As i’ve said before, this is a unique gym with a unique clientele (I’m being nice) so there aren’t a ton of serious workout folks.  I was definitely on the treadmill running longer than anyone else and I gave myself a mental high five for that.

I’m not overly competitive, but when I see someone else who started running about when I did and they take a walking break while I keep running, it motivates me.  It makes me feel good.  It doesn’t make me think any less of them because I’m sure I’ve been that person for many others, but it does help me to keep going.

So post run I felt good, aside from a weird pull in my back/shoulder area (lats i think).  Only me.

I went home, still feeling good.  Had dinner.  Still good, no cough.  Went up to bed to read, still good.  Then I decided it was time to call it a night.

Hello cough!!!  SERIOUSLY!?!?!?!?!  It wasn’t as bad as it has been, but it kept me from sleeping.  Around 1:45a I went downstairs to get some water.  Didn’t help.  Around 2 I tried a cough drop. Around 2:30a I went downstairs and took some cough syrup.  Finally that seemed to help a bit and I dozed a little.  When my alarm went off at 6:30 I felt like I had just fallen asleep so I closed my eyes again and didn’t wake up till about 7:30.  Ooops.

I guess I am getting better slowly, but this whole not sleeping this is getting old.  It’s just weird to me that doing something as exerting as running is fine, but sleeping is not.  I’m pretty sure it’s the whole lying down thing, but still.  Argh!  I’m just venting.

Tonight is back to the group and a 3 mile tempo.  I’m just hoping the roads aren’t icy.  My group posted this attire guide and I’ve found it helpful so I wanted to share (although i’m sure people have seen it before).

layeringinfographic4

Forecast for tonight is around 37-38, so the arsenal of clothing I brought with me to work should be good.  I will FINALLY get to use my lights.  Hooray!

And on that note I will cut this vent-y post short.

Happy running!!

Leave a Reply

