Another soup recipe

I love soup.  I could probably eat soup all the time.  The winter is perfect for soup, but I can also eat soup in the summer…as long as I’m in air conditioning.

On Friday night we ventured out and picked up a rotisserie chicken from Costco (plus some other things).  We weren’t sure what we’d use it for, but they’re such a good deal (and tasty too!).

Sunday my other half springs on me that I’m responsible for dinner (he usually does the cooking).  He said I should do something with the chicken, like maybe chicken noodle soup.  Chicken noodle is not my favorite, so he mentioned avgolemono or chicken lemon rice soup.  Yum!

While I love chicken lemon rice, I had never made it before and therefore I’d need to find a recipe.

Well my friends, I found a wonderful recipe and wanted to share it with you.  I’m still blown away that I actually made this soup because it was GOOD!!

It’s from all recipes, so here’s the link if you’d prefer to go direct.

I made a few modifications and noted them below.

avgolemono

Ingredients

  • 8 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice (I probably used closer to 3/4 cups)
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots (I used about 1 cup)
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion  (I used about 1 cup)
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery  (I used about 1 cup)
  • 6 tablespoons chicken soup base (I only used 4 tablespoons based on some reviews I read)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground white pepper  (I only had black pepper, so I used that)
  • 1/4 cup margarine (I used butter)
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup cooked white rice  (I used whole wheat orzo instead of rice and didn’t pre-cook it)
  • 1 cup diced, cooked chicken meat (I used the rotisserie chicken.  You can definitely add more than 1 cup for a heartier soup.)
  • 16 slices lemon  (This is just for garnish, so you can omit it)
  • 8 egg yolks  (I used 6 which was plenty.  Some reviewers used only 4.)

Directions

  1. In a large pot, combine the chicken broth, lemon juice, carrots, onions, celery, soup base, and white pepper. Bring to a boil on high, then simmer for 20 minutes.  (I added a little olive oil to the pot to start and cooked the carrots, onions, and celery for about 5 minutes before adding the other ingredients.)
  2. Blend the butter and the flour together. Then gradually add it to the soup mixture. Simmer for 10 minutes more, stirring frequently.  (At this point I added the orzo so it would have time to cook).
  3. Meanwhile, beat the egg yolks until light in color. Gradually add some of the hot soup to the egg yolks, stirring constantly. Return the egg mixture to the soup pot and heat through.  Add the chicken.  (I let it cook for an additional 10-15 minutes so cook the orzo.) Ladle hot soup into bowls and garnish with lemon slices.

Going into making this recipe, I wasn’t too sure about the whole egg yolk thing, but thankfully it was pretty easy to do and definitely makes a difference in terms of keeping the soup creamy.

I order this soup frequently when I’m at a Greek restaurant and felt that this version was just as good (if not better) than those I’ve had.

So definitely give it a go.

Leave a Reply

