To run or not to run, that is the question

I’m stuck in a pickle.

pickle

I was really really really looking forward to my hill repeats group run tonight.  So much that I took it easy last night (even though I was feeling better).  Well that bit me in the a$$ as my cough came back with a vengeance last night and I was up most of the night coughing every few minutes.  WTF??

cough

So now I sit here trying to decide if I should still plan to do the run.  I’m torn.

Part of me says:
Do it.  You’ve taken it easy this week, man up and do the run.
You’ll be fine once you get going.
It’s hills, you like hills.

The other part of me says:
You legit have a chest cold, running in the cold could make it worse…or cause you to have a coughing fit.
My chest actually burns, even when I’m sitting still.  Am I crazy to consider running?
One more day of rest won’t kill you.

devil

I seriously don’t know what to do.  I sent a text to my sister for her advice but she hasn’t responded.

I went to the interwebs.  One site says a cough is OK, another site says anything below the neck is not.  Argh!

Guess it just might be a game-time decision.  And now, back to my tea.  Or maybe I head home and try a run on the treadmill.  That way, if it doesn’t work, I’m already home.  Hmmmm.

What’s your experience?

Leave a Reply

