What are the odds? (and a weekend recap)

Happy Monday!

What are the odds that for the third year in a row, I’ve been sick in the middle of January?  In 2014 I had to go to a trade show in Germany and was sick before I left.  In 2015 I went to the same tradeshow and was healthy when I left NY, but got sick while in Germany.  That turned into horrible ear issues and is something I’d like to forget.  This year I decided I wasn’t going to go to the show because I didn’t want to get sick.  I felt fine until Sunday morning when I had that tickle in my throat

And now, boom!  I’ve got a freaking sore throat and cough.  Really?  I don’t feel miserable, but I could definitely feel better.  What is it about mid-January that makes me sick?  Am I allergic to the winter once the holidays pass?

Running this past weekend was a bust.  It was absolutely one of those weekends where life got in the way.  I should have stuck with my Saturday morning group run, but that would have meant an early night on Friday.  Since it was my other half’s birthday, cutting out prior to 10p would not have made him too happy.  So I decided to postpone my run to Sunday.  Of course Sunday morning I wake up feeling crappy.

My goal is to make up the miles this week, but first this cough needs to leave.  Immediately!

I’m subbing a spin class tonight (which I’ve been looking forward to) and will see how I feel afterwards.  I’ve found that working out either makes me feel better or makes me feel worse and I don’t know until it’s done with.  Fingers crossed that it’s for the better!

Aside from not running, the weekend was good.  A mix of being busy and being lazy.  I crave being lazy, although I’m actually not very good at it.

Saturday morning we hit up a new Bass Pro Shops.  While I know people go nuts over this store, it doesn’t do much for me.  There is a lot of camo!  That said, this location (or maybe all locations, who knows?) has a restaurant, bar, and bowling alley.  The bowling alley was so pretty! (it’s amazing that I managed to get a child-free shot, the place was a zoo)

bowling

I also saw this cute sign.  Made from “reclaimed wood” yet also made in China.

licker

Saturday afternoon into evening I colored.  🙂  Yes, I’m being serious.  With a gift card I bought myself a couple of “adult coloring books”.

coloring

I’m loving it, but boy is it time consuming!

Saturday night I also gave these a try.

chocolate-chip-scone-mix

Have to say, they’re pretty tasty and of course incredibly easy to make.  They’re not too sweet, which is good.

scone

I actually can’t remember much of Sunday.  We did go out for ramen/pho because it was cold and snowing (yuck).

And now here’s a completely unrelated photo that I should have shared a while ago.  This AWESOME Nike vest:

vest

It’s reflective, which I love, but it’s also $280!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  OK, i’m lying because right now it’s actually on sale for $225.  Seriously???  Why Nike, why?

So the goals for this week are:

  1. Feel better
  2. Run, run, run

Sounds doable, right?

I’m off to have some green tea and honey.  Have a great day!

2 thoughts on “What are the odds? (and a weekend recap)

  1. OMG THAT BOWLING ALLEY!!! Not all Bass Pro Shops have that. I’ve been in two and neither of them were that cool! (And yes. So much camo. Like way too much.)

    I hope you’re feeling better. I’m the same way when it comes to working out while sick. It’s either really awesome afterward or I want to sleep for a week. So glad to have found your blog!

Leave a Reply

