An Easy Soup Recipe

Last Wednesday night I was going to be stuck in the house on dog duty (missing out on my beloved book club), and I wanted soup.

I could stop at the supermarket on my way home, but it had to be QUICK.

I put up a post on Facebook asking for soup favorites and got some great suggestions.  I was specifically looking for something easy and quick with not too many ingredients.

My friend posted the Southwestern Chicken Soup from Real Simple.

Boy was it simple.  So I made my four ingredient shopping list and off I went.

soup

What good is a photo of soup without a TV remote control?

INGREDIENTS

  1. 12-ounce jar salsa verde (my jar was 16 ounces and I used it all)
  2. cups cooked chicken pieces (I used a rotisserie chicken)
  3. 15-ounce can cannellini beans, drained
  4. cups chicken broth (I ended up using 4 cups)
  5. 2 green onions, chopped
  6. 1/2cup sour cream
  7. tortilla chips (optional)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Empty the salsa into a large saucepan. Cook for 2 minutes over medium-high heat, then add the chicken, beans, and broth. Bring to a boil, lower heat to a simmer, and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. Top each bowl with a sprinkling of onions, a dollop of sour cream, and some tortilla chips (if desired). For a soupier dish, use 4 cups of broth.

 

Seriously, that’s it!   I will say that the quality of this soup depends greatly on the quality of the ingredients you use (because there are so few).  Unfortunately my supermarket seemed to only have one type of Salsa Verde, and it was by ChiChi’s, probably my last choice.  But I went with it.

I used Greek yogurt in place of sour cream, and in the future I may not make that choice again.  And while it was good that night, I found that it was better a couple of days later.

Also note that I had to add some salt.  My friend suggested adding some lime juice, which might be good as well.

It’s easy and healthy to boot!

Do you have a favorite soup recipe?  If so, please share.  My favorite is of course Lasagna Soup.

Leave a Reply

