Banana Bread

Before we left for vacation, we had some unused bananas.  I thought about throwing them out, but figured that they should be OK while we were gone (i.e. not stink up the house or cause a fruit fly infestation).

So of course we came back to overripe bananas and instead of throwing them out, I figured I’d make a healthier banana bread, so to the interwebs I went.

Thanks to the Ambitious Kitchen for this recipe.

Ingredients
cooking spray
1 heaping cup mashed banana
1/3 cup honey (I used maple syrup)
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (I used all purpose flour)
1 cup rolled oats
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon

Directions
Preheat oven to 350.  Spray loaf pan with cooking spray.
In large bowl combine wet ingredients(banana through almond milk) and stir until well combined.
In another bowl combine the dry ingredients and mix well.
Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients gradually and mix well (don’t overmix).
Pour into prepared pan and sprinkle top with oats (optional).
Bake for 60-70 minutes (clean toothpick test).
Let cool on a wire rack.

What I liked about this recipe was that other than the honey/maple syrup, there are no other sweeteners.  Also, there isn’t much added fat.

My substitutions were based only on what I had on hand, so next time I make this, I will try using honey and the whole wheat pastry flour.

I read on some site that the banana flavor intensifies a day or two later, so I’m curious to see if I will like it even more tomorrow.  Will let you know.

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

