And it begins…and a weekend recap

I still can’t believe I signed up for another half marathon.  Who.Am.I????

I’m still not a runner.  To date, I’ve done exactly 4 races.  Yes, 4.  Two 5Ks (2+ years apart), a half marathon, and a 5 miler.  Kind of weird.

Am I running before I’m walking?  (pun intended maybe)

Either way, it is what it is.  And without breaking the bank, my plan is to sign up for a bunch more races to hold myself accountable.

My sister is going to create my training plan, which will likely start in January.  In the meantime, she told me I have to get my weekly mileage to about 15-18 miles until then.  I know it’s do-able, but going from 0 to 15 is a lot.  So now it starts.

3 5-mile runs/week or running 3 miles 5 times a week seems manageable.  So here goes!

Tonight I’m heading to the gym (I HATE the fact that it’s dark all the time when i’m not at work).  My plans is a minimum of 3 and a max of 5 depending on how I feel.

The weekend!!!!

Friday here was INCREDIBLY foggy.  So foggy that it was disorienting, but also quite pretty.  Always a sucker for nature shots, I snapped this one on my phone Friday morning.

fog

Weather this weekend was beautiful and great for running, so what did I do?  Not run at all and instead eat a lot.  Good plan, right?

We went out for dinner both Friday and Saturday, which we haven’t done in ages.  Friday night was BBQ (see gluttonous photo below).  I’m not much of a BBQ person because I’m not much of a meat eater, but I tolerate it because my other half loves it!  I totally took down my chicken but there were lots of leftovers.

bbq

Gratuitous photo of Minnie on her picnic table.  🙂

picnic

Saturday night was the grand opening of a noodle house in town.  I have seriously been waiting for this for months.  First they were opening in October, then November, you get the idea.

We started with fried chicken bao (delicious!), mushroom dumplings (delicious but salty, and pictured below) and then both had ramen for our main course.  I’d never had ramen and went with the chicken.  While I wanted to love it more than anything, I didn’t.  I think next time I’ll try the pho.  (Source for photos)

MECHA_noodle_Bar_Sono_Norwalk8

MECHA_noodle_Bar_Sono_Norwalk12

Can you tell that I love food?  Oh yes, I also tried bubble tea for the first time.  It was interesting.  Not really sure of the point of the “bubbles”.  Anyone?

Sunday started off with me giving the Minnie a bath.

bath

This was in preparation for a visit to my parent’s house to celebrate the last night of Hanukkah.  I was raised jewish and although i’m not religious, I definitely still appreciate the gatherings and traditions.  We lit the menorah and had a nice dinner followed by some AMAZING jelly donuts (a Hanukkah tradition). Shout out to the Pelham Bakery for those!

menorah

Here’s a shot that was taken as my mother was cutting the donuts in half for us.  Who wants one?

donut

From this it seems that my weekend was filled with food and Minnie.  I’ll say it was my last non-running weekend and see how things go from there.

Have a wonderful week!  (I updated my about page if anyone is interested)  😉

3 thoughts on “And it begins…and a weekend recap

  1. Ok, I have to ask about the dog bath. Is that a public place where you can take your dog to wash it? Do these places exist? Or do you just have an amazing dog bath setup in your house? I’m definitely getting tired of washing the dog in my kids’ bathtub. 🙂

    1. Can you imagine the luxury of having a great dog bath in the house? 🙂
      It’s a pet store that has do it yourself baths. It’s called PetValu (maybe Value) and it’s a national chain. It’s $10 to bathe your own dog and it’s amazing!! Maybe there’s one somewhat near to you?
      But yes, they do exist! 🙂

Leave a Reply

