What’s Next?

You know that feeling of putting all your effort into something and then it’s over?  I think people tend to feel that way when planning a wedding or another big event.  It’s all you think about for so long and then it happens.

That’s kind of how I’m feeling now.  I signed up for the half marathon on December 22nd.  Wow!  That’s about 10 months ago.  Since I signed up, I spent a good amount of time thinking about it.

In January, February, and March I tried to run a little.  I think I went for two outdoor runs and did some time on the treadmill.  Full on training started in April.  That’s about 6.5 months of training.

I’m not even one week post race and i’m wondering where to put all my attention now.

I had told myself that i’d get back to weight training, since that was put on hold after the hernia scare in August.  I wouldn’t mind finding a new boxing gym, or getting back to some gym classes like bootcamp.  But I still feel like I need a project or a goal to work towards.

I feel like running is perfect for that.  Pick a race and then train for it.  So I need to pick a race.

Some thoughts:

A turkey trot.  There’s a 5 miler that isn’t too far from my house, so that’s a start.
Another half – maybe the NYC Half if I can get it.  It’s in mid-March so the training will be very different, but it would be a good challenge.
The Boston Marathon 5K (did you think I was just going to say Boston Marathon?  yeah right!) – my sister’s good friend and running buddy ran it last year and loved it. I’ll be up that way to spectate anyway, so maybe it would be a good course to train for time for.  See how fast I can get.  Ha!

So we’ll see.  I definitely  need something.  If you’re local to the CT area and have any suggestions, please share!

3 thoughts on “What’s Next?

  1. Congrats on your half marathon! That’s so exciting! I don’t have mine until March. I wanted to sign up for a bunch of races in the fall, but we’ve had so many weddings going on that I just didn’t have the time. Turkey trots are always fun!

      1. I definitely try to, especially for my long runs. But I did have a 12 miler last year that I had to run on the treadmill because it was so icy outside. Invest in some really good winter running attire!

Leave a Reply

