Running recap

Good morning!

This week was OK running wise, but not great.  Coming off my amazing 7 mile run last week, I was pretty sure things would go downhill.

The schedule called for 5, 3.5, and 3, and then 10 on Sunday.  I did the 5 and the 10, but not the others.

It was a strange week and stuff just got in the way.  I started teaching spin again on tuesday evenings, so at least I got in some sort of cardio.

I ended up doing my 5 mile run on Friday after work, at the gym.  Yuck on so many levels.  I also had a salad for lunch, which I DEEPLY regretted a few miles in.  The run itself wasn’t too bad aside from the lightning in my stomach as I described it.  Yes, bolts shooting around.  Darn salad!  But, I did it.

Saturday I went up to MA to meet up with my parents at a HUGE antique flea market.  I left the house around 7:45 and didn’t get back to the area until almost 8pm.  It was a long day with a lot of walking.  Which, in hindsight, probably wasn’t the best idea in terms of a 10 mile run the next morning.  Plus, I definitely didn’t drink enough water throughout the day.  I tried, but it just didn’t work.

When I got back to the area we went out for the most disappointing dinner ever.  it was a new restaurant so we had high hopes and were incredibly disappointed.  Bummer!  This hiccup also messed with my pre-run nighttime fueling.

Sunday morning brought the run.  We went out a little later than usual, maybe around 7:30/7:45.  It was not a good run for me and had way more walking than I would have liked.  I took a bunch of walking breaks.  One during mile 5, and then lots during miles 7, 8, and 9.  I did do it though and in under 2 hours.  So it was slow, but it is what it is.  Since i think I know the reason(s) for the difficulty I hopefully won’t make them again.

I tried a new fuel for this run.

51Dy6nrNC2L

This is the brand that my sister prefers.  It’s only available online (I think) so she gave me two to try.

The verdict?  I actually didn’t like it.  It was much thinner, which is what she likes about it.  I found it to be a bit gritty and it didn’t sit very well with my stomach (that could have been just a coincidence).

Back to the Gu/Clif.

I got my final schedule, which is four weeks.  Yikes!!!!!  The next two weeks are made to be tough and then the following two are taper periods.  We’ll see how it all goes!

Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

