Make this soup immediately

Every time I make this soup I want to tell everyone I know that they really need to make it.

Without too much rambling, here’s the recipe with my comments in parenthesis.

Bobby Dean’s Lasagna Soup

Ingredients:

2 teaspoons olive oil
1 pound Italian turkey sausage, casings removed  (the last few times i’ve used chicken and spinach or chicken and kale sausage)
1 onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped (I use a red pepper because I really don’t like green peppers)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 (32-ounce) container chicken broth (I like Emeril’s boxed broth)
1 (15-ounce) can tomato sauce (Hunts)
1 (14 1/2-ounce) can petite diced tomatoes (Hunts)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
4 ounces broken whole-wheat lasagna noodles (about 4 noodles) – (this last few times I used gluten free lasagna noodles)
1/2 cup chopped fresh basil (I don’t use the basil because i’m lazy)
3 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese (most of the time I don’t use any cheese, but occasionally a parmesan sprinkle)
1/2 cup reduced-fat shredded mozzarella cheese (see above comment)
8 Whole-wheat breadsticks or grissini (optional) (never used this)

Instructions:

Heat the oil over medium-high heat in a large nonstick saucepot or Dutch oven. Add the sausage, onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Cook over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until the sausage is crumbled and browned, 8 – 10 minutes. (my sausage never browns, but it cooks, so that’s all that matters)

Add the broth, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, salt, and crushed red pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the flavors are blended, about 20 minutes. Add the noodles; bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until the soup thickens slightly and the noodles are tender, 10 – 12 minutes. Remove from the heat; stir in mozzarella, basil, and the Parmesan. Serve with the breadsticks, if using. (whole-wheat lasagna noodles take a little longer to cook.)

It’s really simple and so delicious!  I’ve never had to tweak anything when I’ve made this.  I also made a vegetarian version once, using vegetable stock and veggie-sausage.  It wasn’t bad, definitely worth a shot if you’re a veg.

If unlike me you can only eat soup when it’s cold, bookmark this recipe and make it when you’re ready.  It rocks!!!

Leave a Reply

