8 Hilly

Good morning!

Can you believe that this is the last week of July?  I can’t! I have no idea where the time is going.  Nuts!

Last week wasn’t a great running week for me.  I got in 3 of the 4, so not miserable, but not great.

The long run this week was written as 8 hilly.  I’m pretty sure that any route near me would have qualified for this categorization, but since I wasn’t sure, I attempted to find a route that might be extra hilly.

The run was planned for Sunday, but like may Sundays before, I woke up achy and tired.  I blame the pizza parties.  3-4 hours on your feet can do it.  So I figured I’d push it out to Monday.

Of course Monday morning I woke up feeling a bit worse than Sunday and actually decided to call in sick.  My body was hating me for some reason and telling me it needed a break…from everything.

Which means I again pushed it out.  How about Tuesday morning?  Sounds good to me!  Who doesn’t want to run 8 hilly  miles BEFORE work?

My alarm went off this morning at 4:45.  I had planned to leave around 5 but didn’t realize just how dark it would still be.  So I got dressed and then went downstairs to wait a bit.  I ended up leaving around 5:25 or so.  Sun still wasn’t up, but it was closer.

Here was the route:

Capture

I don’t know if this qualifies as hilly, but it sure felt like it did!  With every uphill there must be a downhill, right?  The first part of the run was tough, slow stead climbing.  The downhill after felt good as well.  Then it was a mixed back of rolling hills.

Right around mile 6 I hit a large hill and had to really push through that.  The last two miles were not fun, but I made it.  I had to walk a couple of times, but in both instances it was for no more than :30, so not too bad.

This run seriously kicked my butt.  More so than any other run to date.  But I did it, and feel good knowing that the half shouldn’t be this hilly.  Or not.

Just took a look at the elevation map and maybe I spoke too soon.

Capture1

I guess the good news is that by mile 5 the really bad hills should be a thing of the past.

So like I said, this run kicked my butt.  I got home and was spent.  I did some butt kicks on the end of my walk to the front door and was met with lovely kneecap pain…on both knees.  I’ll have to Dr. Google that one.  But, I did it.  And to me, that’s what matters.

I have my final spin class tonight.  I’m not sure how I’m going to ride, but I’ll figure it out and hopefully my legs/knees will feel better by then.  Post-class I’m guessing I will grab some dinner and then fall into bed.  Doesn’t sound too bad to me!

So there’s my recap.

On the calendar for Sunday is 10 miles.  Yikes!!!  But, if I can do the 10, I should be able to do the 13.1, right?

Leave a Reply

