7

Happy Monday!

It was a lovely weekend weather wise and I hope it was enjoyable.

It was a tough one for me.  I had 7 miles on the calendar for Sunday and a pizza event on Saturday night that wasn’t scheduled to end until 11:30.  (not to mention an event during the day)

The crazy schedule meant that on Saturday I was under hydrated and possibly under fed.  I swore I wasn’t going to eat pizza, but since it ended up being pizza or nothing, I went with pizza (for lunch and dinner).

We didn’t get home until after 1am and probably didn’t fall asleep until around 2.  I let myself sleep in a bit and got up a little after 7.  By the time I got organized and motivated and we headed out to run, it was around 8:45 or so.  In other words, too late.

By the time we got to the beach it was quite sunny and warm.  Not miserable, but just a reminder that we should have been out earlier.

I definitely wasn’t feeling this run.  In my head I knew that I was a) tired b) a bit dehydrated c) warm and d) hungry.  Not the best of conditions.  Plus, once I had those thoughts in my head, it was kind of tough to push them out.

But off we went.  We don’t usually run together, but this time we did and we found that being together helped us to keep going.  The first three miles were tough.  We did two loops at the beach and then headed out on to the road.  After 3 I actually said “I have no idea how I’m going to do 4 more”.  But I did.  It was slow, but it happened.  I walked for about 30 seconds at one point but otherwise, it was slow and steady the whole time.

It wasn’t a pretty or fast run, but we did get it done.  7 is on the calendar for next week too, so hopefully I will be in better shape for that run.

7 is more than half of a half.  Crazy!!!

I’m a bit short on time today, but will try to post again later this week.  Till then!

Leave a Reply

