6

Good morning!!!

It was quite the weekend and I am glad that it’s Tuesday!

My sig other has a pizza trailer (kind of like a food truck, but it’s towed) and this past weekend he had three events.  I help out with events when I can, so most of the weekend was taken up by pizza.  Not a bad thing, just exhausting!  I took the day off on Monday since I knew I’d lose my whole weekend.

Sunday was the official end of week 10 in my training.  I had been in touch with my coach with some questions and learned a few things that I wanted to implement prior to my long run.  First, I need to carry water.  He told me that any run above 3 miles should include water.  Noted.  Second, any run over 45 minutes (I think) should include fuel.  Also noted.  So I need water and fuel.  He told me to look into a handheld water bottle.  Or not.

I can’t hold things when I run.  Well, I do hold a tissue.  But a tissue and a water bottle are very different.  One day I tried to hold my ipod in my hand.  That didn’t work very well.  So I talked to a friend who uses a belt.  I wasn’t convinced of the comfort but definitely recognized the benefit of being able to carry stuff.  She swore that it didn’t creep up and she barely even noticed it.

On the calendar for Sunday was 6 miles.  I knew this was not going to happen so I figured I’d do the run on Monday.  I also knew that I should have hydration and fuel for this one.

Monday morning came and I felt like I had been hit by a truck.  From two days of being on my feet, everything hurt.  My feet ached.  I was tired.  Motivation = zero.  So we decided that we’d push the long run to lunchtime and buy supplies in the morning.  Lunchtime came and we were still doing errands.  Then all of a sudden it was 2pm.  I was hungry but knew that if I was going to run I couldn’t eat.  So I stayed hungry.  It got a bit later and I realized that realistically a 6 mile run was not happening.  Too hangry. 🙂

Around 4:45 or so I went out for a shorter run.  I figured I’d aim for 2+.  I ended up at 2.7 which wasn’t too bad considering my complete lack of energy.  I was disappointed in myself for not getting the 6 in and told myself that I’d wake up early on Tuesday and do it then.

The day wasn’t a total waste, I got this nifty belt, and a hat.

belt

I set my alarm for 5am and called it a night.  Unfortunately I had a lot on my mind and couldn’t fall asleep.  I tossed and turned for about two hours before finally getting some sleep.  I woke up at 3 to look at the clock.  When the alarm went off at 5 I was anything but motivated.  He said he wasn’t getting up, I said me neither and went back to sleep.  But I still couldn’t sleep.  It was now 5:15 and I was wide awake.  I figured I might as well run.  I needed to clear my head.  If it wasn’t going to be six, that was OK, but I needed to get out there.

I put on my belt and grabbed a gel and at about 5:45a I was out the door.  I felt pretty good but did second guess my choice to wear a long sleeved shirt when I passed a guy with no shirt on.  )Not that I’d ever take my shirt off on a run.)  Since I was feeling good, I figured I’d go for six.

elevation

Poor route planning on my part.  Take my longest run to date and make almost the entire second half uphill.  Nice work Jess.  It.Was.Tough.  Like really tough.  I took a quick walking break around 5.1 or so (right after a particularly tough hill).

But I did it.  Plus I used my belt with my water and gel.  Having never used any sort of fuel before I wasn’t really sure what I was doing, but I did know that I needed to have water after.  Did I have enough water?  No clue.  Have to ask the guru.

It felt good to complete and as usual, I love being out in the early morning when things are quiet.  It’s so peaceful.  And also, it definitely helped clear my mind, which was much needed.

As for the belt, it was a bit dicey at times, but overall I think we ended the run on good terms.  I wanted to wear it on my hips where it would be most comfortable but predicted that it would try to ride up to my waist.  For the first 3 miles I fought with it, constantly pushing it back down.  Around mile 4 I just let it settle closer to my waist and then tightened it.  That seemed to work.  Phew.

I’m taking a rest day tomorrow since tonight I have class.  Then 3 on Thursday, 3 on Friday, and I think 6.5 or 7 on Sunday.  Yikes!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

