4!

Happy Wednesday!  Hope everyone is having a good week.

My half marathon is in a little over 5 months.  Sounds weird to say.  Still sounds very far away!

Training is going well.  My long run on Sunday was 4 miles.

Instead of running in my neighborhood, we headed down to the beach.  I figured I’d try a long run on the flatter terrain down there (it’s very hilly by me).  Interestingly enough there was a 10K going on so I overlapped with them a bit.

It was good overall.  My first mile was my fastest and I felt OK.  Mile two felt just so-so, but miles 3 and 4 were better.

I just read something that said the first 10 minutes of a run are the worst (for almost everyone).  The same article said that some people don’t get into their groove and feel good until miles 3 or 4.  How about you?  Do you agree with this?

On the schedule yesterday was 1.5 and spin.  I wanted to run outside though, so my 1.5 ended up being 1.9, which was OK.  It was quite hot but I have to say I really wasn’t bothered by the heat.

This route had a nice hill.

elevation

Call me crazy but I actually don’t mind hills, which is good because this is the elevation map for the half.

race

At least the end is flat!

Would love any input on your sweet spot for running.  When does it start to feel good/easier?

2 thoughts on “4!

Leave a Reply

