When running hurts

Good morning!

I’m a bit scattered today but figured I’d throw up a quick post.

Training continues to go OK.  My long run this week was 2 miles (don’t judge).  It was supposed to happen on Sunday but instead I pushed it out to Monday.  It went pretty well.  Not easy, but nowhere near impossible either.  I may have even gone a bit over 2.

Tuesday I was supposed to run a mile before my spin class, but I got tied up at work and didn’t have time.  Spin was lousy because my mic broke.  It takes SO MUCH energy to spin and fully exert your voice so that people can hear you over music.  It’s exhausting!  So that stunk.

Wednesday was 1.5 on the schedule but probably should have been 1 because I skipped Tuesday.  I went for 1.5.

I finished it, but it wasn’t easy.  I had to stop right around the mile mark to stretch my calves as my shins were hurting.  My shins haven’t given me any issue (knock wood) up until now so I’m hoping it was just an off day.  It was also VERY windy!

So today I should run a mile, which I will try to do.

Last night everything from my waist down hurt.  It wasn’t so pleasant and it was only 1.5 miles, which is a bit disheartening.  Today is better though, so I guess I need to get over it.  🙂

Looking to sign up for my first 5K in the next couple of weeks.  Yikes!

Any great stretches you can recommend?  Do you do dynamic stretching before you run or do you just go?

When you started running, did you start with hills or mainly flats?  Where I live is HILLY so it’s all hills.  I know that this is good for me in the long run, but definitely a challenge at times.

One thought on “When running hurts

Leave a Reply

