And then she got sick…

Things were actually going pretty well with running…and then I got sick.  Of course.

I had a tickle in my throat Saturday night, which progressed a bit on Sunday.  A bit worse on Monday but I still got my run in.  Same for Tuesday, but still got my run and spin in.  Then Wednesday hit, a bit worse.  Then Thursday hit…bad enough that I went in late to work.  I’m officially down for the count with a cold and don’t see any running happening until I improve a bit.

It stinks, but it is what it is.  I just want to get better ASAP and since it’s COLD as anything here, maybe staying inside isn’t a terrible idea.

What stinks is that I was just thinking about how lucky I’ve been to not get sick.  I had way too many colds in the late fall/early winter, and was really happy to have finally shaken those germs.  I suppose I should just be thankful that I was healthy for all my travelling.  I just hate it because I was always the person who never.got.sick.  What happened???

In other news…I got new sneakers and am LOVING them!  I also got new orthotics (from the sneaker store) because I was tired of paying $500 for my fancy podiatrist made inserts that my insurance didn’t cover.  So far so good and I’m psyched!!

Triumph_Women_Lateral2

These are the Saucony Triumph ISO.  One word to describe them would be “cushy”.

I went in to my go-to sneaker store with my Brooks Glycerines (which I bought to run in and proceeded to do everything but run in them).  I told the woman that I was OK with new another Glycerine but would also be open to other suggestions.  She showed me the Triumph and after trying them on a thousand different ways (right food, left foot, my orthotic, new orthotic, etc….) I decided to go with the Triumph.

Granted I haven’t run much, but so far I’m LOVING them!

And now before I go I will paint a picture for you of my on my run on Monday…think of it like a bedtime story…

It was a mild day, maybe 40s or low 50s, but I had a cough, so I needed to make sure my mouth/throat were covered.  I put on pants and a tank top and then threw on a windbreaker jacket.  Because my ears are apparently very sensitive to wind, I then put my headband on over my ears.  And then because of my cold, I but a Buff on and pulled it up over both my mouth and my nose.  And voila, I was ready to run….or rob a bank.  As your last visual, I saw a few others out running in capri pants and tank tops…and then there was me.  I’m nothing if not cautious!  🙂

Leave a Reply

