Nothing is simple

Good evening!!

After my frustrating run attempt on Saturday, I spoke to my sister (aka the running guru…in my mind).  I was complaining to her about how I can’t run, my shins hurt, my stomach hurts, blah blah blah.  I’m sure it was a thrilling conversation for her.

She gave me some quick information on the best running form as well as some stretches to help prevent shinsplints.  Apparently once you have them, you will always be prone to them, so it’s learning to overcome (or something like that).

I have a management coach at work (as I prepare to take over corporate America) and based on the many assessments I’ve taken under his guidance, I know that I am a learner.  So of course to the interwebs I went to try to find some more information on form and stretching.  Like any search, there’s a ton of information, both good and bad, out there.

The guru had told me that you want to avoid running with a heel strike.  I had heard this before but am not sure how easy it will be to change.  Do I want to land on my forefoot?  Where do I want to land?

I found these images online and while they’re helpful to look at, it’s still the actual process of putting these concepts into play that may not be so easy.

common-running-vs-good-form running form

Is it best to work on this on a treadmill or outside?  Is a treadmill the answer to any question other than dangerous conditions outside?

As a beginner, I’m wondering if it’s best to try to work on this now, as we all know how hard it is to change a habit.  Or should I be worrying more about running in general and then fine tuning down the line?

I think a lot.  Probably too much and here’s proof!

I think these are good questions for the guru or my coach (who has no clue what he’s gotten himself into).

I need to get some more details on the stretches she mentioned, but once I have them, I will definitely share.

And in case you were wondering, I did manage to run a mile today at lunch.  Nonstop.  On the treadmill.  Phew.

2 thoughts on “Nothing is simple

  1. Yay for running a mile today!!! Keep up the great work!! I wish I had some advice for you, but I am all out of running advice. I used to run a bit, but quit a few years back because it really started bothering my knees. I love how committed you are to finding out the answers and I’m sure you will find what works for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

