Happy 2015!

It’s officially the year I am going to run a half marathon.  Scary!  My commute to work is about 10 miles, so I will be running a distance longer than my commute. Sometimes I think that’s neat, other times it’s totally overwhelming!

That said, it’s time for me to get at it.

After a lazy Christmas, I made it to the gym three days in a row.  Although the third day I didn’t do much (other than get annoyed with the crowds and the clientele).

As I mentioned in my last post, I did a little running on Monday.  I ran a mile without stopping (sort of).  Dumb me had my ipod over the emergency stop button and I managed to accidentally press it towards the end of the mile.  Oops!  But why I’m really writing about this again is because of how crazy sore I ended up.  IT band, hamstrings, calves, feet.  You name it!  I’m chalking it up to going from zero to hero fifty too quick.  Not that two miles is anything crazy, but I guess when it’s been years, it kind of is.

On Wednesday I had every intention to run a mile.  I was still sore, but that was workable.  What stopped me was my stomach.  With spin, my stomach has always been an issue.  If it’s a morning class, i can’t eat.  If it’s an evening class I need to watch carefully what I eat throughout the day and not eat for about 3 hours before.  I get really bad side cramps.

I didn’t think I had this issue with running so I had some granola with yogurt at about 8am.  I got to the gym around 12:30 and the second I started running the pain started.  It’s really tough to work through so I stopped and instead did some incline walking.

After years I’ve come close to figuring out my eating habits for spin and now it looks like I’m going to need to start over for running…or run in the morning on an empty stomach.

When I completed the questionnaire that my future coach provided, he asked about fueling.  I admitted that I’d never had a distance that required refueling, so clearly this is going to come up.

Any suggestions? (thanks in advance!)

5 thoughts on “Happy 2015!

  1. Hi Jessica! Thanks for commenting over at my blog-it’s always good to hear from you! I’m glad you’re blogging again too and so excited to hear about how you’re doing as you train for your first half! You’ll do great, I’m sure. Have a great 2015. Here’s an article with some light snack ideas for before and after your workouts. Maybe you can find something that agrees with you. 🙂

  2. Hi Jessica- happy New Yesr. I’m so glad you started blogging again. 🙂 congrats with getting back to the gym, it’s always hard to step in when we aren’t teaching. Onto your question:
    What side is this pain on? On a personal note, do you go to the bathroom before working out? Have you ever had problems with your gallbladder? How about switching things out and just have BCAA ( amino acids) and work out fasted? I do this all the time. Regular PT will find this crazy but honestly look up intermittent fasting or Layne Norton. My only guess would be a gluten intolerance or milk allergy. Try almond milk perhaps?? I know that’s a bit of info but at least you could eliminate 1 at a time 🙂
    congrats on running a 1/2. I did a triathlon in Sept and ran a 5k straight without walking a week later. Something I had never done. If I can do it you can and WILL!!!!!

    1. Thanks Marianne! Always nice to hear from you.
      The pain varies. Most recently it was on my right side, but I’ve definitely had it on the left as well.
      I’m pretty confident it’s food related but I guess the only way to know for sure will be lots of trial and error. Fun times!
      Congrats on the tri! That’s on my list too, but I’m very scared of the swim!

Leave a Reply

