Post Holiday 2014

Greetings!  Happy holidays!  I guess we’re still in the holiday mode since New Year’s Eve is just around the corner.  Speaking of which, am I the only person who still doesn’t have plans?

As i’ve gotten older, NYE has been less and less important.  In my head I think it would be fun to get dressed up and do something different and exciting, but I’m pretty sure that come Wednesday around 2pm, i’ll change my mind.  So we’ll see!

The holidays were fine, uneventful and low key.  We did the usual movie and chinese food on Christmas.  Saw Big Eyes, which was interesting.  I had no idea it was a true story.

Now that we’re getting very close to the end of 2014, social media is abuzz with people reflecting and making resolutions for 2014.

I’m not a fan of official calendar year resolutions, but I do appreciate the idea of making positive changes, as well as calling out things you’d like to accomplish in the coming months.

I clearly have one big goal for 2015, and that is to run the half marathon in October.  Related to that is also improving my overall fitness.

I took my first step in that direction today.  I know it’s not yet 2015, but who cares?  After a few VERY lazy days, I finally got to the gym and hit the treadmill.  I didn’t do much, but it’s a start.  I ran one mile and then did another as intervals with increasing speed.  It’s only been a few hours since I finished and I’m already sore.  But for me, sore is good.  I like sore.

Other things I’d like to do this upcoming year….
Go on a vacation (or two or three) – For as long as I can remember I’ve gone on at least one trip a year.  While I did go on a few long weekend trips last year (vegas, london) there was no beach relaxation vacation and I’m really missing it.
Take dance lessons with the sig other – I’m thinking latin of some sort.  He said OK, so we just need to actually do it.
Find more time for me and doing what I want – Sometimes I feel like my life is all about me constantly running around and getting stuff done.  I want down time and the occasional time to do something without thinking about it first.

I know it’s a short list, but like I said, I don’t really call things out.  Maybe the list will grow, maybe it won’t, but either way that’s OK.

I may or may not email before NYE, so if not, have a happy and safe new year!

Leave a Reply

