Dance for me

Good afternoon!  Happy Monday!!

I hope everyone had a lovely weekend and that it felt long and indulgent. 🙂

Over here it was a nice weekend.

Friday night I did NOTHING.  DJ had a stag party to go to so i was on my own and didn’t really feel like making plans (or spending money).

Saturday morning i was up at the usual time of 7:30 but out of the house around 8:35 instead of the usual 9:15.  Why you ask?

Well…a member of the gym who has been very loyal to my classes got her Zumba certification and was teaching her first class (as a sub) that morning at 9a.  I’ve never taken a zumba class but felt like I owed it to her, so off I went.

I have to say I had very mixed feelings about the whole thing.  I was nervous and just not sure what i was getting myself in to.  while i can hear a beat and translate it in to a pedal stroke, i can’t always translate it in to body movement.  But I figured what the heck, and knew it would mean a lot to her to see me there.

I stuck to the back row (mainly so i couldn’t see myself in the mirror).  although the back row is also bad because anyone peaking in to the class sees the back row first.

the verdict:  it was fun.  some stuff i could do more easily than others and some moves just made me feel outright foolish, but i followed along as best as i could.  i realized that no one in the class cared the least about what i was doing or what i looked like, and that part was great.  if she subs again, I would take her class again.  as for other classes, that’s a maybe.  While i was sweating, it didn’t feel like enough of a work out for me.  Now maybe that is because i was still figuring things out, but i’m not sure.  I’m just glad I made myself get (way) out of my comfort zone and take the class.

I cut out early to prepare for my class.

We used something very similar to this ride.  It felt quite tough.  Maybe it was the Zumba or maybe it was the fact that the humidity in the spin room was probably around 95%.

spin feb

 

The rest of the day it rained and rained and rained and we did some errands.

Sunday morning we had brunch with DJ’s mom and then did a few more errands.  My parents are currently on vacation so my sister came up to spend the day with me.  We sat on the deck and had drinks and food most of the day.  DJ of course made pizza.  It was a lovely way to spend the day.

Now it’s Monday and back to the “routine”.  Nothing exciting here.

Hope you’re having a great day!!

2 thoughts on “Dance for me

Leave a Reply

