A successful weekend and a special day

Today is a very special day.

anniversary

 

Today is my parent’s 40th wedding anniversary.  Holy cow!!

In honor of this milestone, my sister and I sent them to see Book of Mormon on Broadway on Saturday and then threw a surprise party for them at their house when they returned.

The past week was incredibly busy with party prep and last minute details, but it was all so very worth it when they walked in to the house and were surrounded by their friends and family.  I’d say it was a success.

anniv1
Such a gracious host.

 

anniv8
My sister, my uncle, and I looking out the window for their car.
anniv19
Surprise!!
anniv13
Kind of speaks for itself.

While it turned out they weren’t fully surprised (they were suspicious and looking for clues), it was still a great party and a wonderful occasion to celebrate.

So after a weekend with no gym visits and lots of eating, it’s time for me to crack the whip and get back to something.

I’ve got my sights set on running and am hoping I can make things happen.  So now I’m off to see what I can find via Google in terms of running/training plans.  Will keep you posted.

Hope you had a great weekend!
Can you imagine being married for 40 years?  I can’t!

8 thoughts on “A successful weekend and a special day

  1. I love that we both talked about our parents today! Parents ARE wonderful! Ironically, mine celebrated their 40th anniversary this past October! It’s so crazy to think about being with the same person for that long. All of the experiences and things that are shared are truly incredible! Amazing. 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your parents 40th Jessica! So awesome what you and your sister did even if they weren’t 100% surprised! Hey, it’s the thought that counts 🙂 loved your post today! :/) now, don’t forget to hit the gym!!! I’ve heard of the running program, something on the lines of couch to 5k??? I’m not sure o the name but its a training program for people wanting to run their 1st 5k. Have you heard of it?
    Marianne

    1. Thanks! It was a great celebration and like you said, the thought is definitely what counts.
      I’m thinking I’m going to do a Hal Higdon training program because I have done a few 5Ks in the past. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

