Shopping…kind of

How about a nice non-spin topic for today?

I love to shop.  However, since the announcement of the acquisition at work, I’ve toned things down.  Not that I shopped like crazy before, but now I shop even less.  Every now and then though, I have to remind myself that I do still have a job, and a paycheck, so it’s OK to pick up a few things here and there.

Once the weather can manage to stay consistently above 55, I’m hoping to get back to running.  While I can tolerate the treadmill, running outside is about a gazillion times better.  In order to embark (again) on this running journey, I needed new sneakers.

While I LOVE my Brooks Pure, I found that they wore really fast and at this point their tread is almost non-existent.  Let me say that I hardly ran in the past year, so that’s not a good thing.

Buying sneakers can suck (and be expensive).  I have foot issues that are remedied by some pretty hefty orthotics.  Given the investment in my feet, I really can’t skimp on sneakers, so you probably won’t find me even entertaining something less than $75.  Maybe there are good shoes out there at that price point, but I’ve never found them.  Historically my shoes have all been right around $125.

Thankfully I was given a nice gift card to Sports Authority around the holidays.  Truth be told, I hate that store, but a gift card can make any store more pleasant. 🙂

Sports Authority does have a lot of sneakers, although a TON are Nike, which are not my favorite.  I also find that for the most part it’s very much self-service and the people who work there are definitely not in any position to answer technical questions about sneakers.

I tried on about every sneaker there.  I was there for about an hour and a half.  Crazy!  I narrowed it down to another pair of Brooks and a pair of Mizunos.  At that point, I just couldn’t figure it out.  I had tried on so many shoes that my feet hurt no matter what.

In the end, the Brooks were $150 and the Mizunos were on sale for $90, but I just wasn’t sure.  Enter the man of my dreams.  I’m kidding.  But a Sports Authority employee who actually runs +40 miles/week (and knew what he was talking about) came to my assistance.  He was able to look at my stance and then recommend one of the two shoes.  Halaleujah!

The winner??

mizuno

What might possibly have been the ugliest shoe in the store, the Mizuno.  To say they are yellow would be an understatement.  They are YELLOW and they are loud and unapologetic.  But I’m OK with that.  I like color!  I actually bought a set of blue shoelaces to use instead of the yellow laces they came with.  I think it will nicely tie the sole in to the rest of the shoe.  Yes, this is how my brain works.

So now I just need to wait for the weather to catch up and then I’ll give them a go.

So that was my most recent (of interest) purchase.

Oh yeah, I also got this t-shirt this weekend.

rescue

 

In other areas, here’s a pair of workout pants that I’d LOVE to have.  But really, who spends almost $100 on workout pants?  Not me!

luluBut seriously, how hot are they?

So there’s my shopping-related notes.

Would you spend that much on work out pants?  Have you?  Are you a lululemon fan?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Shopping…kind of

Leave a Reply

