I Don’t Like Girls

Good morning and happy Monday!  (totally just started to write Friday, so disappointing)

Did anyone else have  a rough time waking up and getting out of bed this morning?  When the alarm went off at 6:30a I was pretty convinced that it was wrong, seeing as it was quite dark out.  I love it being lighter in the evening, but the waking up part is pretty tough right now.

I had a great weekend but will come back to that in a few, since i’m sure my subject has you on the edge of your seat wondering what I’m talking about.  Right?

I don’t like Girls.  I’ve tried, I just don’t.  I’m talking about the HBO show Girls.  The show that everyone seems to LOVE.  I have tried for many episodes to find these characters endearing or at least likable and I just can’t.  I can’t.

girls

I find them strange to the point of frustration which make watching the show an unpleasant experience.

Tell me, do you watch Girls?  If you like/love it, why?  Please help me understand.  The episode last night was painful to watch in several parts.  I never need to watch someone clean their ears with q tips on tv.  Never.

So there’s my two cents.  Back to the weekend.

Saturday
Class on Saturday was full and actually overbooked which brings me to a frustration.  This class requires sign up, so starting Thursday morning, you call and reserve a spot.  The sign-up sheet itself has numbered lines on it.  We have 22 bikes, so it’s numbered 1-22.  When I came in this week, it was overbooked because some idiot apparently did not know to write the names of people next to the numbers so there were two names in a random location.  I just don’t get it.  Writing people down on the sign up sheet is probably one of the easiest jobs at the gym yet there is an issue at least once a month.  OK, venting done.

Class was good.  I used this ride and had one of the members say it might be her favorite.

spin-january-brr
For some reason I only have an image of the hour ride.
I did not use Keep Hope Alive or Right Now.

Aside from a bizarre issue with the System of a Down Song breaking up and then pausing, it was a good ride.  Something like that may happen with a CD but shouldn’t happen with an ipod.

After class I was actually asked to teach a second class on Saturday.  The 10a class has been getting a bit out of hand and there has been member feedback that they’d like to see two classes.  We used to have two classes on Saturdays but the 9a instructor was pretty bad and his attendance fell off.

I knew that a 9a was possible but I didn’t necessarily think they’d come to me for it.  On one hand it’s great and I’m flattered.  But on the other hand if as a member, you don’t like me, you’re not going to like Saturdays.  I guess on the flip side the rest of the spin instructors at the gym are just “eh” and perhaps they don’t want to risk bringing in someone new.

Of course this needs approval which is never simple, so we’ll see what happens.  My only issue is that I’ll need to have even more rides up my sleeve.

Moving on… (and I’ll keep the rest brief)

Saturday afternoon we headed up to visit friends in upstate CT.  They live on a dirt road in the middle of nowhere.  Not to mention they had gotten about 18 inches of snow the day before.  Definitely wasn’t in Kansas anymore.  But they’re house is lovely and we had a great time!   Sunday we headed home but not without a (slightly out of the way) stop at a paintball shop for DJ.  Later in the day we did some errands in preparation for our cleaning lady on Tuesday.  So excited.

We ended the weekend with some yummy greek food and TV.  And now it’s Monday and I’ll be honest and say that my interest in work right now is negative.  Oh well.

Have a great day!!

 

5 thoughts on “I Don’t Like Girls

  1. I have heard of Girls but haven’t seen it myself. I don’t like many shows. In all honesty – I barely watch TV. I keep it on in the background but can’t really focus haha!
    Teaching another class is a great opportunity! I hope it works out for you. 🙂 I’m looking forward to checking out your class!

  2. I watch Girls, but I don’t love it. I like it quite a bit and find it funny/entertaining, but I think the key is to not really care about the characters. I haven’t watched this season though, so who knows if I would still like it!

Leave a Reply

