I climbed the Great Pyramid

I had planned on climbing the Eiffel Tower, but I failed.  Thankfully the Great Pyramid isn’t too shabby either.

Are you wondering what the heck I’m talking about?

step

 

As I think I may have mentioned, I’ve been truly uninspired in terms of the gym and specifically cardio.  I hit the gym yesterday with the intention of getting my sweat on.

First, I ran.  Unheard of, right?  I hate the treadmill but figured I’d try for a mile anyway.  I’m happy to say that I ran 1.75 miles.  To most I’m sure that sounds like nothing, but for me it was encouraging.

Post run I hopped on the stair-mill, always a sure fire way to spike my heartrate and get that sweat on.

I guess it’s been a while since I’ve done the step mill and apparently they got new machines.

step screenI’m not sure if you can see it here, but this display allows you to climb for time, calories, or a monument/building.   I obviously chose building.  It defaulted to the Empire State Building which I believe was listed as 150 floors.  I thought that seemed lofty so I selected the Effiel Tower, at 100 floors.  Looking back, I’m not sure what I was thinking.

So I started.  The timer said it would take about 25 minutes.  This should have been my red flag as I don’t think I’ve ever lasted on that machine more than 15 or maybe 20 and that was a while ago when I was working out regularly (and didn’t run almost 2 miles first).

But off I went.  Many times I see people on this machine putting a ton of weight on the handlebars which makes it easier.  I feel the need to say that I don’t do that. 🙂  Within a few minutes I was huffing, puffing, and sweating, but I persevered.  I noticed that as you accomplished smaller goals, it would come up on the screen.  For example, around 30 or 35 floors, I climbed Big Ben.  So I told myself that it was OK if I couldn’t climb the Eiffel Tower, but I did have to hang in there until I reached another landmark.

Enter the Great Pyramid.  At 45 floors I did it!  I even managed to push through another 5 floors and then called it quits at 50.  I lasted a whopping 12 or 13 minutes.  It is insane to me just how difficult that machine is.

But it’s great.  I am now very determined to climb the Eiffel Tower.  It will happen!

So fingers crossed that my cardio flame has been rekindled!

How was your night?  Climb any monuments?

 

4 thoughts on “I climbed the Great Pyramid

  1. Thanks for the entertaining post! While I didn’t climb any monuments, I did go for a training ride (road bike on trainers with a 40+ others in a small room with an insane instructor yelling for us to GOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!) and I’m pretty sure we climbed a few mountains in an hours time. At least it felt like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

