Just one of those days

I had a conference call today at 10a, as I do every Wednesday.  I dialed in and when they asked who was on the call, I started to talk and then totally hesitated when it came to saying my name.  It was like my name escaped me.   We all got a good laugh out of that.  My name is Jessica, I’ve got that down now.

My Tuesday was frustrating as many work days are.  However the light at the end of my tunnel was the fact that I teach on Tuesday nights and that usually helps me blow off some steam.

Last night’s class was just OK.  It was smaller than usual and the energy just seemed off.  Who knows.  None-the-less it kicked my butt and did allow me to blow off steam.  But instead of clearing my head, it put me in a deep thinking mode, which was odd.

Nothing like pondering what the heck you’re doing with your life on a Tuesday night.  Ugh.

So back to class.  I used my summer ride, which was on a CD. (I don’t seem to have it on this computer, so I’ll post another time.)  As you know, with a CD, as opposed to an ipod, you can’t see what the next song is.  So I was obviously surprised when I expected to hear Heat of the Moment and it wasn’t there.  Instead of my heavy hill song, it went to my recovery song.  So what did I do?  I turned the music off and made them climb in silence for about 2 minutes.  Might have won the least liked instructor off that.

Personally I thought it was kind of cool to just hear the bikes and people breathing, but maybe I just need to get out more.

What would you think in that situation?  Would you be OK with a few minutes of just heavy  climbing, no music, or would that make you hate the class and never go back?

After class I headed home.  We had dinner and then I spent the rest of the night relaxing and trying to figure out what my dream job is.  No answers yet.

And then it was Wednesday.  And now it’s almost Thursday.  Have a lovely evening!!

5 thoughts on “Just one of those days

  1. Hi Jessica! Funny, there was just a thread over on “Former Cycling Pingers” covering this very topic. I could totally see teaching for a short period with no music. I love the sound of the flywheel turning… Just focus on your breathing, pedal stoke, etc. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

