Weekend recap

Good morning and happy Monday!

Sadly, I am at work today.  Therefore I’m very jealous of anyone who is off for President’s Day.  The cafeteria in our building is closed today which means we’re one of the only companies here.  Therefore clearly we shouldn’t be. 🙂

It was a lovely weekend, but it was way too short!

I’m pretty sure I did nothing on Friday evening, but for the life of me, I can’t remember.  Even though I know it was nothing notable, it’s driving me nuts that I can’t recall.

Saturday was an uneventful day.  I taught and then did some errands and then did some cleaning (my least favorite thing ever).  DJ had invited some friends over for a pizza night.

A few pictures:

feb pizza3
It started to snow and the snow and the fire made for a pretty combo.
feb pizza
Good old cheese pizza
feb pizza1
Sausage and broccoli rabe pie

This is becoming quite the pizza blog 🙂

I ate a lot but felt a bit better about it knowing that on Sunday I was hosting a 3 hour spin ride.  As I’ve mentioned before, I put together a spin fundraiser to benefit Running for Rescues.

While the interest level wasn’t as high as I had hoped (partially because it was a holiday weekend), and then I had some last minute cancellations, it was still a strong group and we had a nice time.

A pretty bad picture, but a picture none the less.
A pretty bad picture, but a picture none the less.

I made two batches of granola; peanut butter, and almond/cranberry/coconut.  I used all-natural PB this time and thought it was just so-so.  However this may have also been due to it being slightly overcooked.  Oops!  I preferred the second variety.

The ride was 3 hours long, so I had another instructor teach the first half and then I taught the second.  I always teach the end and always question why I do.  I do think that I can motivate a group of people who have already been pedalling away for hours, but on the flip side, people tend to leave early.  Plus, teaching the last hour of a 3 hour ride (in my opinion), doesn’t mean keeping it crazy and upbeat.  To me it’s more about endurance and hanging in there.  Just my two cents.

So I put together a ride for this event that started out with steady moderate climbing as when it’s about endurance, I feel that that is what most of your ride should be about.  For the last 45 minutes or so, we mixed it up a bit.

From the 5th song on, I went with an Animal theme.  As this was a ride to benefit homeless animals, it seemed appropriate.  Not to mention it gave us a little something to distract us from any exhaustion and pain we might have been experiencing.

Spin - animal

Truth be told, I didn’t play all of First Tube as it was just not the right song at that moment.  I played about a minute of it as a recovery.

I also didn’t play the Pitbull song because the first instructor had used it in her part.  She did give me a list of her songs, and I did read it, clearly I just missed that.

So our 3 hour ride was really more of a 2 hour and 45 minute ride, but that’s OK.

Post ride I did a couple of errands and then headed home where I proceeded to realize just how tired I truly was.

And now it’s Monday.  Who’s ready for the weekend?

 

5 thoughts on “Weekend recap

Leave a Reply

