Oh Facebook

gym

If you do this, I apologize.  For some reason some posts bother me while others don’t phase me.

But anyway…I hate Facebook yet I find myself checking it constantly.  I do think it has it’s merits (on occasion) but for the most part all it does is tell me way more than I need to know about people I probably don’t care about.

Moving on…

Happy Tuesday!

I subbed a class last night.  The instructor used to have a really loyal following but that was years ago so I just wasn’t sure what I’d be walking in to.  Thankfully the turnout was good and while the energy was a bit low, they worked hard and seemed to enjoy the class.

At NYSC most of the classes are 45 minutes with a few “Super Spin” classes mixed in, which are 60 minutes.  Both of my regular classes are only 45 minutes so when I have to teach a 60, I either need time to modify a playlist or have to act on the fly.

Last night it was a bit of on the fly as all the rides on my ipod are only 45 minutes long.  So what did I do?  I put in a CD copy of one of the rides, used the first two songs there, and then switched over to my ipod for a 45 minute ride.  I don’t think it was exactly an hour, but it was closer (and no-one complained).

In other areas…

I feel like there are so many things I want to do but free-time is always an issue.  At least weekly I find myself daydreaming of a time when I have consecutive days of leisure during which I can do the things I want to do.

A couple of examples:

  • After my grandfather passed away (three years this May), I took a whole bunch of his old shirts with plans to make a quilt, or some quilt style pillows.
  • Spin rides.  I need to sit down and make a few instead of doing the one-off thing the night before a class.
  • Clean out and organize the garage (which hasn’t seen a car in ages).

The quilt item is at the top of my list and also probably the most time-consuming.  I had done some research and bought some of the required materials, I just haven’t had the time to do the work.  I really need to work on that.

Spin rides would be nice but at the same time I really could continue with the last-minute planning.

And the garage must happen, it just has to be a coordinated effort between DJ and I which makes things that much more challenging.

Does anyone else just wish for a block of days to get things done?

In theory a weekend should accomplish this, but it’s so rare that there is nothing else going on, so it just never happens.  And I guess I could use vacation days to accomplish this, but a) I’d prefer an actual vacation and b) I don’t have many days to take.

Happy Fat Tuesday!!!

5 thoughts on “Oh Facebook

  1. You’re really lucky you don’t have my job. I’m on Facebook ALL day long. Literally, it’s part of my job. It’s got it’s perks but you definitely end up getting annoyed more easily on some days..

    I’m the same way with time. I have plans to get some cleaning done (as always) but I want to go further and scrub the oven, the refrigerator, etc. I also need to put new pictures in frames and hang up some pieces. My walls are so naked so i feel like this will make it feel more like home. 🙂

    1. Glad I’m not the only one who finds it hard to get things done.
      Totally hear you on Facebook. I’ve had jobs in the past where I had to do a lot of social networking. I’m happy I don’t have to do that anymore 🙂

  2. I COMPLETELY agree. Sometimes, I go through people’s walls to count the working out posts to normal posts ratio. it’s not good! Also, “boyfriend” – I don’t mind if you have posts about your boyfriend, but when people don’t use names and say only boyfriend, it’s obvious they want you to know. Sorry, rant over 🙂

Leave a Reply

