Record Highs

I wish!

Unless you’ve been under a rock, you likely know that the northeast got pounded with snow on Friday.  I can’t sign on to facebook without seeing at least five a gazillion pictures of people’s driveways/car/snowblowers/kids.

Yes, it snowed.  I did not take one picture.  I may be the only person for whom this is the case.  I knew I was special.

I was in the office until about 11 on Friday and then worked from home the rest of the day. While I don’t love working from home, it worked out nicely and I loved being able to take Minnie out for little romps in the snow as it was falling.

Given the weather reports, I was proactive and secured a sub for my Saturday class on Friday.  One of the instructors lives super close, so he just walked there.  He said the gym was empty (not surprised) but that 6 people made it to spin.

Aside from quick trips to the neighbors and dog walks, I didn’t leave the house until Sunday around 11a.

We watched all the remaining episodes of Homeland (and now I’m bummed to have to wait until September for the next season).  DJ made chili and pizza (of course!), I made carrot cake.  We managed to keep busy overall.  Sunday I had plans to be super productive but apparently the act of leaving the house and doing errands exhausted me and left me useless. 🙂

Since I have no snow pictures to share, I’ll share something more interesting and appealing.  Pizza.

As I’ve eluded to, DJs dream is to open a restaurant/pizza shop.  Everything he cooks is amazing but his passion is pizza.  And it’s darn good.  In my opinion his pizza is better than any other pizza in the area, and I’m not just saying that.  Like most things, cooking evolves.  On Saturday he went a different route with the sauce and just may have found pure Neapolitan pizza perfection.

Neapolitan pizza.Homemade dough (of course) spread with crushed san marzano tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, and a sprinkling of Romano cheese.
Neapolitan pizza.
Homemade dough (of course) spread with crushed san marzano tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, and a sprinkling of Romano cheese.
A close-up of the same pie.
A close-up of the same pie.

And in a different direction, here’s a BLT pie, in which the crust is cooked first and then the chilled ingredients are placed on top.

BLT pie
BLT pie

This my friends is why I must continue to spinning and get my act together at the gym. 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Record Highs

Leave a Reply

