Disappointing

For the past couple of months I’ve been trying to make it to Wednesday 6p bootcamp.  It seems that anytime something comes up at work (or at home) it’s been on a Wednesday.

So last night I promised myself that unless something urgent came up, I was going to this class.  I wasn’t even feeling 100% but needed to go.

Apparently the work gods were on my side (for once) and I left around 5:15 and headed to the gym.  I was about 10 minutes early to the class and didn’t see the instructor (who I love) around, so I hopped on a spin bike for a few.  I had a perfect view of the studio so i’d know when to exit.

Unfortunately I saw another trainer walk in to the room and hook up his ipod.  Bummer.  The original instructor had told me he was possibly going to give up the class, but I had hoped it was just something he said.  Wrong.  So while I was a bit disappointed, I remained positive and hit the class.

It was lackluster.  I am sore today but the class itself wasn’t fun and seemed a bit disorganized.  It was all women and if I counted how many times he said “Let’s Go Ladies” my head would spin.  He’s also coming in to fill rather big shoes, as the previous guy had this class forever and had a very loyal following.  I personally felt like he was trying too hard to make it similar to the old class as opposed to making it his own.

My favorite saying of the night:  “It’s boot-camp, it’s supposed to be hard.  If you look up boot-camp in the dictionary the first word you see would be suck.”  Really??

I’m particular, I get it.  But still… I feel badly but i’m not sure I’ll return.  On the flip side for every person who doesn’t like a class, there should be one who loves it, right?  He’s a young muscley guy, so maybe people will go for the eye candy?  Not my cup of tea, but maybe??

Anyway…

I’m on a lunch break right now and eating leftovers from Monday night.  As I’ve mentioned on here before, I’m a HUGE fan of Trader Joe’s Meatless Meatballs and have been buying them for as long as I can remember.  However I’ve never had much success getting my significant others to like them since they’ve all been big carnivores.

DJ is on a health kick so he seemed open to them as a meal.  Given that he’s the chef, he whipped up something a bit more involved than my usual.

meatsauce

They just changed the meatball packaging and I almost had a freak-out when I couldn’t find them.  Phew.  We’ve also become obsessed with the Tomato and Basil Marinara.  DJ goes as far as to say that it’s just as good as Rao’s, but healthier and WAY cheaper (hello $1.79).

For this pseudo “recipe” he sauteed some onions and peppers and then added the sauce and the meatballs, cooking the meatballs in the sauce.  Per my urging, he then mashed the meatballs to make it more of a meat sauce.  With a few minutes to go on the stove he added in a few hot cherry peppers for a little kick.  Voila! A tasty, healthy meal!

Of course it was enjoyed with Trader Joe’s High Fiber pasta.  I highly highly recommend the meatballs but do suggest mashing them as I think the texture is better that way.

Moving on…

I know I owe a few spin rides and promise I will get to them ASAP.

Have a wonderful Thursday!!

5 thoughts on “Disappointing

  1. Ok, the way you arranged the ingredients reminded me of the show “Chopped” on Food Network. You know, where they give you these crazy ‘basket’ ingredients and then you have to make something tasty and original. I’m addicted to it.

    You’re so lucky to have a live in cook. I love my husband dearly, but he can’t boil water! Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

