What are you looking forward to?

I just had a quick chat with a great friend (hi James!) and she mentioned something that I thought was worth sharing.

Her words exactly:

james

 

I’m attempting to preserve her true identity. 🙂

But what I liked is her positive outlook and the thought of having something to look forward to every day, in addition to looking forward to things on the horizon.

I’m definitely guilty of looking forward to things and wishing away the present.  I even find myself doing this each week.  Come Monday i’m already looking forward to Friday.  I should really work on that.

So she asked me what I was looking forward to today.  Thankfully today was easy; my class tonight!  I haven’t taught it in over 2 weeks due to the holidays, so I’m very much ready.

So I guess it doesn’t count if what I look forward to is leaving work?  Perhaps if I say taking Minnie on a walk after work it would be better?

So I’m going to attempt to put this positive spin on every day and see how it goes.

What are you looking forward to today?

One thought on “What are you looking forward to?

  1. Aww. I love you Jess! you are a FANTASTIC friend. I think having something to look forward to is important. Another “activity” i used to do (and really should continue to do) was to keep a gratitude journal by my bed at night, where i would write down something (or a list of things) i was greatful for each night before bed…even if it were simple or superficial..ie: the color blue, the ocean, my sister, hummus! haha. it’s fun to look back on it and remember all that is good in the world..kind of the same idea as that book in my office at work “14,000 things to be happy about”. While iI believe it is important to be excited for things to come, it’s also so valuable to be present in the now..so I am practicing mindfulness strategies as well. It’s all been so helpful. Honored I made it to the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

