White Thursday

In case you didn’t know, the Northeast got hit with a noreaster yesterday.  Where I live, it brought with it about 5 inches of snow.  I dislike snow and I dislike the cold, so I wasn’t too happy about it.  But, it is what it is.

My parents, whose power came back on Saturday, lost it again.  It’s still out.  Thankfully I never lost power this time.

I did learn that Minnie loves the snow.  Too bad I don’t have a fenced in yard as I know she’d love to run around and play it in.  Maybe next time it snows I can figure something out.  It was cute though, aside from when she tugged at her leash and almost took me down since it was so slippery.

I wanted to share a recipe with you today.  It’s not at all healthy but it is good.  I made these bars for a Halloween party and in an attempt to make them a bit healthier decided not to use all the sweetened condensed milk.  Healthwise it made sense, but it made for some slightly dry bars.  I will be making them again this weekend for my work bake sale next week.

For some reason I’ve been on a cake mix recipe kick.  It makes the process a bit easier (and less messy).

Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars

1 (18.25oz) package yellow cake mix
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup chunky peanut butter
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 10 oz package chocolate chips
1 14oz can sweetened condensed milk

Preheat oven to 350.
In a large bowl, combine cake mix, eggs, peanut butter, and butter; mix well. Press half the mixture onto bottom of an ungreased 9″ x 13″ baking dish. Bake 10 minutes.
Remove peanut butter base from oven.  Top with chocolate chips, and drizzle with sweetened condensed milk.  Crumble remaining peanut butter mixture then sprinkle over top.
Bake 25-30 minutes, or until golden.
Allow to cool completely then cut in to bars.

Notes:  The actual recipe calls for peanut butter chips, but I thought the addition of chocolate chips would be better than all peanut butter.  In addition, you could choose to use chocolate cake mix instead of yellow.

And now I am off to hunt for my productivity and motivation; they’ve been hiding!

2 thoughts on “White Thursday

Leave a Reply

