Starting again

Good morning and happy Monday to you all!

In the Northeast it seems that people are trying to find some semblance of normalcy this Monday.  People are taking pleasure in the mundane things such as going to work and sitting in traffic.  Of course there are still many people who can’t yet move forward and to them of course my thoughts and sympathies are with them.

This weekend most of CT got their power back.  The gas crisis moved its way up the coast and has arrived in CT.  Getting off the highway on Saturday night I was stopped by a caravan of four cars who came all the way from Long Beach and were looking for gas.  Crazy.  I’m the person who worries after I give someone directions that they won’t find their destination, in this case I worried that they didn’t find gas.

I’m trying to do what I can to help.  Lots of people here are organizing donation drives.  I gave a bunch of winter clothes and coats and sneakers to a neighbor whose good friend’s family lost everything in NJ.  I plan to hit up the store at some point to buy cleaning products to donate as well.  I’m also attempting to host a spin fundraiser to benefit the red cross.  For my sanity I need to do something.

The weekend was good but for the past week I’ve felt like a gray cloud was following me around.  I went through the motions and put on a smile but my heart just wasn’t in anything I did.  We had talked about going to the Giants game yesterday, but when it came down to it, I just didn’t feel right having fun.  I’m sure this may sound odd, but it’s how I feel.

Anyway…back to the whole fact that it’s Monday thing.  It’s a new week.

For me it’s a new start in the diet arena (not diet as in to lose weight, but diet in terms of the food I eat).  As I’ve mentioned, I’ve been having many stomach issues.  I’m not sure if I’ve gone in to detail on this before, but years ago (probably 9 or 10) it was determined that I had an overgrowth of yeast in my intestines and possibly a yeast sensitivity.  I was put on a very strict diet which caused the yeast to not be able to survive and I felt better.

While I’m not sure that’s what’s ailing me this time, some of the symptoms do match up, so I’m giving it another go.  It’s a very strict diet, so i am allowing myself a little wiggle room otherwise I’d probably go nuts.  I’m hoping it helps!

I’m not supposed to have coffee but who am I kidding?  Hopefully my one cup in the morning isn’t a deal breaker.  You’re also supposed to eliminate fruit initially and I’m taking that lightly as well.  The list of things to avoid is pretty lengthy so I won’t go into detail.  Fingers crossed I can pull this off!

I have a friend visiting on 10/17 for pizza and my goal is to be really good up until then. 🙂

I have a gastro appointment on Friday so hopefully i’m headed in the right direction.

And now, before I go, here’s a picture of Minnie in her Halloween costume (keep in mind that she’s the worst subject ever).

I sent this to my sister and she opened it on her phone and thought she was dressed as an umbrella. She’s a devil/bat thing. 🙂
One thought on “Starting again

Leave a Reply

